Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Ups and downs of a week
08 July 2013 22:07


1) I had a choice of three things to spend my time on tonight, and you've won you lucky dairyland people. Well, the jury's still out on that - your winning is dependent on my finishing and posting this before I go to bed. How about that, two gerunds in the same sentence?

2) Based on a non-representative sample (my immediate family), 80% of the world's population were watching the Wimbledon final yesterday. It is quite strange to realise that your family are watching the same TV coverage as you - and in two different continents. Must be something in there about the effect of globalisation and the power of TV and internet. Mum stayed up through the night to watch the game, being 12 hours ahead of the UK.

3) I wanted Murray to win as his name is easier to pronounce. CGF admired my logic but Little Sis reckoned I was a clown

4) My fridge-freezer broke last week, which was a bit of a pain. I first noticed the fridge bit wasn't working when the milk on my breakfast cornflakes was warmer than it should have been. Then checked the freezer and realised that wasn't working either.

5) Although the frozen food thawed, it remained chilled until Friday when took a day off and had a massive cooking session (1 joint of pork; 1 large meat pie; 3 individual meat pies; 18 sausages; 2 burgers; 1 pork chop; 8 portions of fish; 2 lb. mince; 1.5 lb. liver and bacon). I also filled two dustbin bags with food that was beyond salvage and/or I couldn't be bothered to cook (there's only so much cooked food a person can cope with). General reaction to that litany has been "how much food do you store in your freezer?" (Which is an odd question given that it comes in response to my listing the contents). One colleague went on to say that he doesn't keep much more than frozen veg - which is one thing that I tend not to have!

6) The new fridge-freezer arrived in the afternoon (90 minutes later than promised and 60 minutes after I'd intended to leave for Eastleigh). It had to stand for four hours before being switched on. This was a problem solution opportunity as I wasn't going to be there in four hours' time and had a load of cooked food to store. I quickly hit on a solution though - time switch! Oh yes, sometimes I am the king of solution opportunities.

7) The late delivery also meant that I don't have time to take the disposed food to the tip (as the dustbin doesn't get emptied until Friday). Hmm, this really isn't perfect weather to have two bin bags of decomposing food in your wheelie bin. Good job it is a long way from my flat.

8) The traffic news warned of long delays on the M3 to Eastleigh. Luckily, I can read a map and am not averse to driving along single-track roads. Hey, sometimes I can do both at the same time. I made Eastleigh by 6.00. In fact, I made the school in Eastleigh by 6.00, having first parked at CGF's and walked down.

9) I was at the School to see their production of Grease. It was really good - a school performance as it should be (loads of enthusiasm, some unexpected talent, and a creation amount of ad-libbing/extemporisation).

10) I counted out my loose change pot. Over the last few months I have collected 47% more 5 pence pieces than 1 penny pieces and 27% more 1 penny pieces than 2 pence pieces. I wonder if this is representative of coins in circulation. I can't help being a geek sometimes.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!