Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Wear the fox hat
27 September 2013 23:59


No time for a long entry, so just some bullet points, with no attempt to provide any linking paragraphs, and only limited attempts to provide any form of ordering.

  • I replaced a light switch. I was slightly confused when the room went dark, until I realised that removing the switch would make the light go out. Though it did go darker that I expected (or would have expected, had I anticipated such an event) as the wiring for another light also ran through the switch I removed.
  • I was replacing the light switch because it was a dimmer switch which didn't work with low-energy light bulbs. I think the reason is that dimmer switches don't restrict the amount of electricity flowing through; they send the same amount of electricity but in short bursts (e.g. they don't reduce the flow from 40 to 4, they send 40 through for one millisecond then nothing for nine milliseconds). Low energy light bulbs do something similar. Therefore the two in combination cause the light to flicker, as when the bulb wants electricity the switch doesn't send any, and vice-versa. This theory may or may not be correct, but it works for me
  • I deliberately didn't put any units of measure in that last paragraph as I can't remember whether it is watts or amps or joules or something else. But I'm pretty certain that it isn't volts. Volts is how high the water falls; amps is how quickly it falls. E.g. water falling 200 feet vertical distance down a waterfall has more power than water trickling 200 feet vertical distance down a mountain stream. Power may not be the right word there. I should stop writing about concepts I don't understand.
  • CGF's heating isn't working (not that it is needed at the moment), so I had a look at the boiler. Central heating is something I know even less about than electricity. The pressure in the system was low, so I googled an instruction manual to find out how to re-pressurise it. The "user operating manual" [sic] was not much help. The description was nothing like what I was seeing. You had to connect a flexible hose (which wasn't there) from one tap (which wasn't there) to another (which wasn't there) and remove a blue cover (which didn't exist). I then YouTubed and found a video that showed there was a simple tap to turn on - which I found under a pile of towels. The pressure has now increased but the heating still isn't working.
  • I think that minestrone soup is my least favourite of regular soups. My heart always sinks a bit when I see that it is on the menu at work
  • The Radio Times (or raddy-o-toe-mee) as I like to pretentiously call it) is 90 years old. Despite its name it publishes listings for the magic moving pictures box as well - but obviously didn't when it first started (similarly the (imaginatively named) TV Times also publishes radio listings - but not as well as the Raddy-o-toe-mee). For years it published only BBC programmes (and TV Times only ITV programmes. Other listings magazines were not available). I'm not sure whether it was because they didn't want to promote their rivals, or because they wouldn't give their own listings to the opposition
  • It's been foggy the last couple of mornings. My car has one switch for the fog lights; click once for one set and twice for both sets. However I am not sure whether the first set is front or rear, and couldn't check while driving as the car in front / behind might wonder why I was flashing my lights.
  • Having thirty minutes to kill today I wanted to go for a coffee. But I seemed to be in a coffee-shop-free zone. Is there anywhere else with so many shops yet no CostaBucks Republic? In the end I had to go to Greggs (which some people think is a bakery to misquote my headmaster (he was comparing WH Smiths and bookshops). And what's so good about Greggs sausage rolls? While I was waiting for my coffee (an inordinate amount of time for such a simple drink) about four customers asked for sausage rolls (they were all told "they'll be about three minutes" btw)
  • If a submersible pumps is three feet under water, and pumping to three feet above the water level, the height it us pumping is only three feet, not six. This seems odd until you remember that water always levels out, so is quite capable of moving itself the first three feet. E.g. if you drilled a hole in the bottom of the pond and stuck a hose in, the water would flow out until you raise the end of the hose up above the level of the water. If I could draw I'd have given you a diagram to show what I mean, but I can't so I haven't
  • And the title of this post, of course, is the advice you would give me if I told you where I was this weekend. Tbh I'm not sure myself where I am this weekend. But profanity filters have been known to screen out the name of the nearest town.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!