Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

I wonder why the pig was dropped
02 December 2013 22:46


It is the 30th anniversary of the Now That''s What I Call Music compilations. It seems hard to comprehend now, but when they first came out they were revolutionary (both metaphorically and literally, since they came on a record). No one before had thought of producing a compilation of current chart hits. IIRC I had Now 1 and Now 2 and one other - all on cassette tape. I did look on iTunes and Amazon for these, for old-time's sake, but they no longer appear to be available (or are hidden amongst the plethora of other Now compilations). The logo of the compilation used to be a pig. Hence the title of this post.

Last week I had an out-of-office visit to another company about 45-minutes' drive away. I gave one of the people I was going with a lift and she started off by asking if I minded if she put a newspaper on the seat to sit on. Maybe she has been reading Victorian travel advice books that apparently advised females to sit on a book* when travelling (I forget why). Or maybe it was an OCD thing and she couldn't sit directly on a car seat. Anyway, she explained that it was to stop her feeling car sick. I can't see how sitting on a newspaper has any bearing on car sickness, so conclude that it could be a psychosomatic problem. Or it really was OCD.

* I was going to write "sit on a phone directory" but I'm not sure that phone directories existed in Victorian times

Another colleague had gone directly there. On the way back we arrived at work at the same time, which I thought was a bit of an amazing coincidence. Even though we had left the building at the same time, we'd parked in different parts of the car park so didn't drive off at the same time (and as we couldn't see each other's car we couldn't have done so even if we'd wanted to). But without trying, we covered the distance at the same average speed. Unless, of course, the other car did try and followed me all the way and I didn't notice - shows how much attention I took of my rear-view mirror.

In the waiting room at the dentist (where I went last week) there were five chairs. Chairs 2 and 4 were occupied; the others were empty. Should I sit at one or other end and next to only one person, or in the middle and next to both? While I was contemplating this, both people moved along to seats 1 and 5 respectively and left me seat 3. When I came out of the surgery there were three different people in the waiting room, sitting in the same configuration: 1, 3 and 5.

I think that I may have completed my Christmas shopping - but won't know for sure until I've wrapped the presents and remind myself what I've bought (wrapping was going to be tomorrow's task, but may not now happen until next week). I've also written some Christmas cards - out of necessity, having noticed that the last posting date to NZ is this week).

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!