Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Latest News
24 March 2014 19:14


Major news story in the Andover Midweek Rag last week was that the Tesco supermarket in the centre of Andover is closing down. Yes, Andover is even too downmarket to support Tesco's. The report said the supermarket was "a convenient place to pick up some lunchtime nibbles". Shoppers' opinions included: "I used to go to the Tesco for little bits"; "it's a popular place to buy sandwiches"; and "I often pop in there for bottles of water". Anyone spot a theme here? Am I the only one to notice that selling lunchtime nibbles, sandwiches and drinks is not going to go a long way towards the £1m annual rent (I know it's £1m as I was chatting to someone who is on the town council and he told me).

We (that's us in UKland (which may or may not include Scottishnessland by then)) are getting a new style £1 coin. It will have twelve sides, similar to the old threepenny (pronounced thrupenny) bit. Being a bit of a Geek, I wondered how long ago it was when three pence was worth what a pound today is. Around about 1915 or 1916. Don't forget if you are checking my calculation, three pence in 1915 was one eightieth of a pound, not three hundredths.

Is it wrong of me to get slightly narked when salesmen phone me up out of the blue to offer me something that I've never considered wanting and when I say "no I'm not interested" ask me "why not"? I didn't ask you to phone me; why should I justify my decisions to you?

Is it wrong of me if my reaction on hearing a scouse accent is to mentally check that everything valuable is locked down?

Prices in the work canteen have gone up this week. By an average of 4% - or so we are told. Seeing as the price of my standard lunch has increased by 8%, some things must have gone up by not very much.

I watched a bit (a small bit) of Sports Relief on Friday night. The Fools and Horses with David Beckham was better than I'd expected it to be. It included a homage to one of the programme's funniest scenes. No not this one

This one


previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!