Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Rant and rave
04 April 2014 20:26


I don't think that time travel is possible, or ever will be. OK that's an odd way to start a post but it's caught your attention. We occasionally have discussions about this at work; one of my colleagues is adamant that the theory is all there and it will be possible one day, but I'm not convinced. There are all sorts of holes in the theory such as "if you go back in time, how come you don't get in the way of people who are trying to use the same space and time zone as you?"

I watched an episode of Dr Who on Friday (don't ask me which one - I wasn't watching that closely) which illustrated another problem (though it may have been a hole in the story line rather than a hole in the time-travel theory). The Doctor took a room in a house that turned out to be an alien space ship. He knew which house to go to because at the end of the story his assistant went back in time to highlight the advert in the shop window. And here's the problem: if the advert hadn't been highlighted he wouldn't have discovered where the spaceship was; but if he hadn't discovered where the spaceship was, the advert wouldn't have been highlighted. Of course, it could just be that I think too much.

I spent a successful afternoon doing man-jobs on Sunday*. I put a bracket on the shed and moved the bird feeder there from the tree (because now the tree is coming into leaf it is getting hard to see it); cut the lawn (and went round the edges with the shears); vacuumed the inside of a car; fitted reflectors to a bicycle; noticed tyre on said bicycle was pinching the inner tube so corrected that; realised it was too late as tube was already punctured; made an attempt at mending puncture** but didn't think it would be successful as the hole was too big (I was right). Not bad for an afternoon's work, seeing as I didn't start until 3.30.

*Because I got told off for calling these things man-jobs I should point out that I am not suggesting that they are jobs that can only be done by men - or even that they are better done by men. Just that they are less-badly done by men than anything else men might try so division of labour principles suggest that men do them. And as the alternative in this particular division of labour was marking Maths tests, it was a bit of a no-brainer really.

** I also showed CGF why there is a block of chalk in a puncture report kit, and a grater on the bottom of their box.

I'm a great-uncle. Favourite (and only) niece gave birth to a baby boy yesterday or today, depending on where in the world you are. I think it was a week or so early, but I'm not really 100% certain when it was due. I better get into practice with the "isn't he cute/sweet/adorable" comments for when Mum brings an album of photos when she comes over next month.

I've done the good great-uncle thing and went shopping after work to buy a new-baby present (a cuddly elephant (well, it had to be an elephant as that was his mum's favourite toy) and some clothes (though I had to keep my inner (and outer) pedant in check at the slogan "Daddy and me [sic] drive mummy round the bend".

Such is the uniformity of department stores that I was quite sure I was in BHS until I went to pay and discovered I was in Debenhams.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!