Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Pigeon poisoning time
10 April 2014 21:50


Health and safety advice: when you go outside, even if it is just to pop to the garage or put some rubbish in the dustbin, put shoes on your feet. Because if you step on a sharp stone it hurts. Really, really hurts.

It was a cold and damp weekend and start to the week. I had to close my windows after opening them for ventilation last week. I then lost the window key, so wasn't sure how I was going to open them again. I even considered investigating where I could get another key. After a few days I found the key - pretty much where it should have been, but hidden by a mobile phone. Which means either that the elves had taken it for a laugh, or I am useless at searching for things even when they are under my nose.

In between rain showers on Saturday I managed to pull some weeds (and/or flowers that I didn't recognise) from the garden. I then decided there was a lot of space in the flowerbeds so went off and bought various plants to fill it. I can't remember what, but I think one lot were dwarf chrysanthemums (in the hope that the dwarves will fight the elves to stop them from hiding my keys). I also cut a couple of hyacinths (?) to put in a vase (well, a tumbler as I don't own any vases). And I didn't so much intentionally cut them as accidentally knock them over with the power lead for the lawnmower. Oh and some strawberry plants. That was a non-sequitor, btw - or at least, the sentence that it was a sequitor for was way back in the middle of the paragraph.

I watched a thrush pulling a worm form the garden. Someone told me that thrushes were becoming less common, and it's the first I've seen for a while.

One more day of work, then off till after Easter. I'm a bit demob happy - can you tell? We're going oop norf for a few days to visit various relatives (and to babysit CGF's brother's children).

So I'll leave you with a spring-time song.


previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!