Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Midsummer (almost)
20 June 2014 21:16


Not a lot to write about this week, but I thought I should post an entry before the nights start drawing in after tomorrow.

The Spanish for a two-toed sloth translates literally as "lazy of two toes". The Spanish is more interesting as it contains a repetition of five letters. "perezoso de dos dedos". Set me wondering whether there are sets of letters in English that can be repeated to make meaningful words. All I could come up with was "of ten often" which doesn't make a whole lot of sense and I'm not sure I can work out a sentence that would include it.

My car air-con has stopped working. It may have stopped working several months ago, but it is only in the last week or so that I have noticed. I did have it booked in to be serviced in Sunday, but the air-con man has gone off sick, so that will have to be postponed.

I've been wondering about the difference between "named after" and "named for". My assumption has always been that "named after" is British English and "named for" is American English. However, a book I have been reading has used both at different times, so I wondered whether there was some context that dictates which should be used. A quick bit of tinternet research, but it appears that my assumption was correct. Must just be that the (American English) author and/or (British English) editor decided to adopt one form for some phrases and the other for others.

People in Andover have an extraordinary way of giving information, and it is not always clear what they mean, as this exchange illustrates:
"The date on my ID card still shows 2013"
"Baldrick, the date on your id card has been printed and is never going to change. Do you mean that you haven't been sent a replacement card or that you have but it shows the wrong date?"
"I haven't received a new one"
"Well why couldn't you say that?"

I put a bird feeder on the garden last week. So far the birds have ignored it. Or haven't realised that it is there. Bird-brained creatures.

I cut the lawn this evening, and had a look round the garden. Plants are generally more prevalent than the weeds, which is a good thing.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!