Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

For free too!
25 October 2014 10:50


Is it wrong to write three pages of corrections and revisions when reviewing a ten-page document? I hope not, as that's what I did at work yesterday. Though to be fair, some of this was reiterating the incorrect text and stating the correct text.

Speaking of things grammar (as I was, loosely), I was asked to give my opinion on whether it should be "Manager's Forum" or "Managers' Forum". I ruled that, as the forum was for managers (dative) not of managers (genitive) the apostrophe was not required and "Managers Forum" was sufficient.

I finally ran out of excuses not to watch Frozen. What can I say? It's, er, a film. It's a Disney film. And that's about it. It's not the best animated film - it's not even the best Disney animated film. Here, this trailer pretty much sums it up.

Last night we watched another film. Like Lion King, but a true story and with real lions. And real people. Who were, in real life, subsequently and separately (and unrelated to the film) murdered. That should be enough clues for the name of the film. OK, more Lion Queen than Lion King, if you want to quibble about it.

News yesterday that the EU has decided that the UK must contribute more money. Some points I will make on that: 1) if that's the rules that everyone (by which I mean all member states) has agreed, then that's the rules that must be followed. You can't decide to flout the rules just because they no longer suit. 2) The UK knew the rules. It could have worked out that it was underpaying and so put that money on one side, knowing that it would have to pay eventually (like a small business I once heard about that almost went bankrupt when it received the first gas bill for three years. The owners and accountants hadn't noticed that they hadn't received any bills. Yeah, right. 3) If the UK has more money than other member countries, it seems equitable that it should pay a higher contribution; 4) Just because France and Germany are to receive a rebate doesn't mean that they don't contribute more than the UK; 5) It does not follow that "If you have higher GDP growth than forecast, that also means logically that you have a higher contribution to the community's budget" (German MEP Alexander Graf Lambsdorff). A country that doubles its GDP from £1m still has less money than a country whose GDP increases by 5% from £2m.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!