Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

lacking mews
16 January 2015 22:45


I got BSODed today. No, not on my own computer – nothing as important as that. It was at work. I did what everyone does – switched it off and back on again. BSOD again. And a third time. So I called the IT helpdesk. They said they would send an engineer round, so I twiddled my thumbs for a few minutes. Two and a half hours later, no engineer had turned up – and my thumbs were getting tired with all that twiddling. So I started to think up some alternative ways of working. I could move to an absent colleague’s desk. Or – hang on - I have another computer that, while it doesn’t access the network, does access the database I am using. So, er, I could have been working all along.

The engineer still hadn’t turned up by the time I went home.

I heard on the news this morning that the UK and USA are joining forces in a cyber-security team that will test the resilience to hackers of various strategic computer systems. Funny, but shouldn’t they be doing that already?

I treated myself to a new camera at the weekend. My old one had stopped working. Possibly because of the flour that it got splashed with when I was taking pictures of my pre-Christmas baking session. It’s got lots of cool settings and gizmos – most of which I will probably never use, and a few of which I don’t even understand. I’ll maybe take it somewhere this weekend and try a few photos with the various settings. There are only so many photos you can take from inside a small apartment – but I did take an impressive close-up of the door lock from the other side of the room, and a panoramic shot of the walls.

I carefully chose a camera that was the same make as my old one, so I could re-use the memory card and case. Guess what? The card doesn’t fit. And neither does the case.

Live entertainment news: I saw this guy perform this week. Amazing speed. My hands can’t move that quickly – never mind hit the right keys. Come to think of it, my eyes don’t move that quickly either. It was like watching a time-lapse sequence: you occasionally get a glimpse of the scene, but most of the time it’s just a blur of movement. Go to about 6:30 in.

And this one is for dangerspouse. His latest post should explain why. OK, I’ve probably posted it before but never mind.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!