Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

lined entry
18 February 2015 22:43


We went to a formal dinner on Saturday – the annual dinner of a university society of which I was a member (as close to an alumni reunion as I am likely to get). The 60th anniversary dinner, so a lot of people attended from across the decades. It was good to catch up with a people I've not seen for something like twenty years (one couple's daughter is now a current member (and holds the same committee post that her father held). I’m pretty certain they were childless last time I saw them). Even after all these years we still look the same – just a bit older.

There were a number of photographs on display – we looked so young in those days. In some photos we looked too young to be at university. I realised with a slight shock that I am now about the age the founder members would have been when I attended my first annual dinner.


It's become very bright outside my kitchen window (at night-time I mean – obviously it is bright out there during the day). At first I thought it was a full moon. The following night I thought that the neighbour had left a light on. Eventually I worked out that it was from the new bright street lamp that has been provided as part of Smalltown's street light replacement programme.


At work, a consultation document has been issued concerning proposed reforms to the company pension scheme. As far as I can tell, the proposals can be summed up as "pay more; get less". Though one of my consultation comments will be that the document doesn't make it clear how much less this could be.


Sunday afternoon we went for a walk round some woods. I pointed out the smell of a fox’s scent. “How do you know these things?” asked CGF Sprog 3. “Probably because I’ve got almost 40 years more experience than you have” I replied. But what she lacks in experience she makes up for in observation. When we remarked how much more the birds were singing as we went further into the wood, she pointed out that the birds had always been singing, but we couldn’t hear them near the road because of the noise of traffic.

Signs of spring were apparent. Catkins were beginning to form on the catkin trees and flowers were beginning to appear on the biscuit bushes .


Pancake Day yesterday; we had pancakes for breakfast this morning. Like shopping, pancake-making is probably something that men and women shouldn't do together. CGF likes to turn the pancakes with a spatula, while I prefer to flip them properly. But not too much ended up on the floor.


And I’ll end with a joke to make you groan. How do you think the unthinkable? Hit it with an ithe-berg.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!