Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

brief catch up
25 April 2015 22:31


A busy couple of weeks, but here are a few odds and ends to let you know that I am still here. I’ll try to write a more intelligent and coherent piece at some point soon.

1. My grocery shop at Tesco this afternoon would have confused the retail analyst. Washing powder, malt loaf, custard, and beer. Can’t see anything wrong with that.

2. I own, following some strange set of coincidences that are too tedious to relate, a few shares in Lloyds bank – Britain’s worst performing bank. This year they are actually paying a dividend – all of bugger-all pence per share. I was offered the chance to use my dividend to buy more shares? Why would I want to do that? I’m just waiting for the share price to increase enough to make it worthwhile selling my shares. It may be a long wait.

3. It has become warm enough to change from my winter/spring coat to my spring/summer coat. And the ensuing excitement of finding what was in the pocket – a biro, a miscellaneous sheet of paper, and some receipts. No money.

4. Philosophy of a teenager: “when a child says ‘maybe’ they mean ‘yes’; when an adult says ‘maybe’ they mean ‘no’”. Can’t argue with that.

5. A second parkrun last week –and I smashed my personal best. 29:04. which has achieved my goal of sub-30 minutes from last time.

6. We went for a cycle ride last week –to Southampton sports centre. There’s a pub at the far end where you can sit outside and enjoy the view. It’s quite a pleasant spot, and while we were sipping our coffee and nibbling out cake (I don’t know how that happened. When the bar tender asked “anything else?”, somehow my “no, that’s all” came out as “oh and three slices of that victoria sandwich”) CGF Sprog 3 came out with “I really like this place. All sports centres should be like this”.

7. A couple of weeks ago I started off some vegetable seeds in pots. Some of them have started to sprout, but I got fed up with having to water them every other day so I planted then in CGF’s garden yesterday, and will let the rain do the watering. Except I mixed them up a bit so don’t know which are carrots and which are leeks. Today I extended the vegetable patch, and planted peas. Let’s see how many make it to a crop.

8. At work this week I was asked to review a document. OK, I know I can be a bit of a grammar pedant at times, but the quality was rubbish. Non-sense sentences, ambiguous paragraphs, and some bits that were just wrong. And why do people not work out that there is a “do not split rows” option on tables, or that it looks awful to put the first two lines of a section at the bottom of a page, and split the rest to the next page.

9. Teaching today and I tried to keep my grammar pedant in check but eventually I could control it no longer. “That’s the fourth time you’ve written "seperate"; the word is “separate”. Well, it keeps me to the OFSTED requirements of including literacy in every session.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!