Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Six to One
02 June 2015 22:13


Oh ye who mocked my attempts to get my parking fee back from the council – I have been vindicated. The council accepted my plea of incompetency and have cancelled the parking ticket. Result.

Saturday, after the usual run, I did some gardening. I thinned out the carrots and leeks – neither of which is looking particularly vegetable-shaped at the moment. In fact, it is difficult to differentiate the leeks from blades of grass. Not to worry, according to my mother (who knows lots about gardening) they will grow.

Later we went to the garden centre and bought a few more border plants (marigolds, mainly) and some fennel that caught my eye and for which I thought there were a few random spaces around the vegetable patch.

I told CGF that the Marigold was developed by a guy names Gary Mould, who swapped his name round to name the flower. She’d not heard that before, which was hardly surprising as I made it up on the spot.

Sunday I was teaching a first aid course all day. One of the trainees mentioned that I made the course fun and enjoyable. I felt like replying “it’s not for your benefit, it’s for mine. If I’m going to give up my Sunday I want to make it as enjoyable as possible”.

Controversy about the final of Britain’s Got No Talent – something to do with the winning dog actually being two dogs. First world problems. ITV’s explanation is that the performer has trained a number of performing dogs and her act includes several of them. So why go to such great lengths to hide it? The impression given was that one dog was doing all the tricks. But as controversies go, I think this one will blow over as soon as the chattering classes have something more pressing to worry about.

I didn’t see much of the programme anyway – I was helping CGF Sprog 3 with her homework. I did try to see the magician on ITV Player, but had to register to do that so gave up.

Of course, the winner of Britain’s got No Talent won on the basis of receiving more votes than any other contestant, not over 50% of all votes cast. Haven’t heard the proponents of a change to the electoral system complaining about that, have we? Just saying. Though as the prize is to appear at the Royal Variety Performance – shouldn’t it be the Queen who decides, not the public?

Charles Kennedy has died. The usual plaudits have been given by politicians of all parties, saying what a decent bloke he was, and what an excellent politician. From what I saw of him, I think he probably was quite “human” for a politician, and an effective leader of the Lib Dems. My initial thought (And that of a colleague) was “I wonder if it’s the booze what killed him”, but then realised this was a tad prejudiced and unfair. Just because he had had a well-known (and self-confessed) drinking problem is no reason that he still had.

Sepp Blatter has stepped down. About time too - not that I follow much football, either on or off the pitch, but it seems to me that FIFA has become a den of corruption. Even Dixon of Dock Green has been implicated, and no one likes a bent copper. But I have found out that the name is Sepp, not Seth.

After several months of rumour, counter-rumour, and false hopes, work has announced that the working pattern is moving to a nine-day fortnight in August – work a bit longer for nine days, and have every other Friday off. Suits me – I’m already planning what to do with my non-working Fridays.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!