Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Childhood reversions
24 January 2016 21:20


It’s been a bit of a reversion to childhood weekend.

In the first reversion (which actually happened second, but who’s counting?) I tested my childhood-learnt motor skills by trying to play a recorder. Now, if you bear in mind that I haven’t touched a recorder for getting on for forty years, I hope you will be impressed.

First I played a scale. I don’t know which key – the one with F# in it. Then, after a couple of false starts, I played the theme tune to the Wombles from memory. That wasn’t too difficult seeing as I learned it by ear originally. When I was in Year 6 I was playing it as we were getting ready for a music lesson. When the teacher came in she asked who had been playing the Wombles. I thought I was going to get in trouble for messing about before the lesson started, but she was impressed and went and found the music so everyone could play it!

Then I managed to read and play music. Not as easy as it sounds, as the music I found (or was given by CS3) was for oboe, so included lots of notes that you can’t play on a recorder. Some if it I mentally transposed into something I could play. Well, a bit of that, a bit of playing by ear, and a lot of guesswork. Then CS3 found a piece that I didn’t know, so I sight-read that, and then we played it as a duet. I did confuse CS3 a bit by missing out a line entirely, and then by saying “I can’t remember what upper F-sharp is” on a piece that didn’t contain any upper F-sharps.

And I even subconsciously tapped out the beat on the recorder with my spare fingers.

My second childhood reversion was breakfast. Ready Brek (well, the supermarket own brand version). Central Heating for Kids. The preparation method has changed a bit. Nowadays you add milk and put it in the microwave to warm up. In my day we didn’t have microwaves, you just used hot milk. Well, most households used hot milk. In my childhood household, hot milk was for special occasions. We had to make do with cold milk. I don’t know why – it may have been something to so with our tight parents refusing to turn the cooker on. But more likely that they didn’t want to waste milk by heating more than we would use.

So this morning (and yesterday morning) I had cold Ready Brek (supermarket own brand version) for breakfast. CGF thinks it is weird, but it’s what I am used to. It tastes just like hot Ready Brek, except it is cold. And you don’t end up walking round looking like these kids:

This advert earned the cereal the nickname of “Windscale Flakes”. Look it up if you understand why.

I also eat porridge oats with cold milk. Is that unusual?

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!