Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Ran fat boy ran
20 March 2016 20:32


I did it! I completed the Eastleigh 10km road race. It was an enjoyable experience. There was always a throng of other runners around me, but because the roads were wide I could generally get past people when I needed to (and vice-versa). There were pacing runners at strategic intervals; I started with the 60 minute pacers. But after about 1 km I overtook the 55 minute pacers and thought “if I keep this pace up I should achieve a good time”. So I did and I did – 52:36. Not bad for someone who didn’t do running until a year ago.

CGF came to support. As the course is roughly a figure-of-eight, she was able to see the start, then go and buy a coffee(for her not for me) while I ran round the top loop, coming back to cheer me through the half-way point. As freebies I got a running shirt, medal, banana, two jaffa cakes and bottle of water. Well, I say "freebie" but really the cost had been included in the entry fee


I forgot to say that when I was at Eastleigh United last week I was recognised by someone. The lady selling raffle tickets looked at me and said “I know you – you’re Ruby, aren’t you”. I always find it slightly concerning when someone remembers my name and I’ve got no idea who they are. Turned out that several years ago I’d done some first aid stuff with her cub pack and/or school fete.


My night of babysitting seemed to go OK – everyone went to bed more-or-less on time and got up in time for school/college (again, more-or-less) in the morning. I did my first ever school run – though dropping CS3 off about quarter mile from school, where there is a convenient dropping-off point.

I also made CS3’s packed lunch – well, I added to what was left from yesterday. No finesse or culinary expertise here - just a boy-made Bovril sandwich. I also put a raw potato into her lunch box, just to see what she would say when she finds it. It was a trick my dad played on me many years ago (I think it was an infant school trip to Warwick Castle) and I’ve waited 45 years for the opportunity to play the same trick on someone else.

Does anyone else east Bovril sandwiches, or (like cold ready brek) is it just a Barefoot family delicacy? I’ve never had Bovril as a drink. To me, it’s something that goes on toast or in sandwiches.

Part of my responsible adult duties were to go to a school performance that CS3 was taking part in. It was just a few pieces to show some of the work the extra-curricular drama and dance clubs have been doing. Nothing spectacularly brilliant, but still quite entertaining. I particularly liked a series of sketches where one actor played the person and another played the person’s conscience – speaking the person’s thoughts. A clever and witty script.

It was a bit odd when I got there. As probably the only solitary person there, I must have looked like a separated father. I bought CS3 an ice cream in the interval – and had to buy one for me too, otherwise it would have looked like I was buying just for me, in a billy-no-mates scenario. When I was chatting to CS3 one of the girls from behind called out “Hello Mr CGF”, assuming that I was CS3’s father. “I’m not, actually,” I explained, “but don’t worry about it”.

On our way out I tried to prove that I had this childcare malarkey all in hand:
“So tomorrow, you’ve got to remember your gym kit, but you’ve left your saxophone at school”, I said. “See, I’m organised and know what I’m doing”
“Yes,” replied CS3 patiently. “Except it’s a PE kit and oboe”.


While I was at the theatre I picked up the events programme – “What’s On Spring 2016” – to see what was coming up. I was a bit disappointed and surprised to discover that “spring” meant January, February and March. Funny, but I think that only a third of that (or less, depending on how you define the start of spring) was spring. What are they going to call the events guide for April, May and June?

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!