Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

what does silence sound like?
17 April 2016 21:43


I had a day out at Microsoft UK HQ this week. Not just me – me and about 200 other developers. Not that I am strictly a Microsoft Developer (I don't think writing clever stuff to automatically rearrange an Excel column alphabetically counts – especially when you pikied it from Tinternet), but I went along for the ride.

Part of the session was app-enabled. They had a phone app where you could respond to survey questions, and give feedback on the sessions as the day progressed. When we registered we were asked what type of phone we had so they could give us the correct download instructions.
“Do you have a windows phone?”
“No”
“Is it IAS?”
“No”
“Then it must be android”
“No”.
*looks confused* “so what type of phone do you have?”
I pulled out my trusty old Nokia 8303: “A proper phone – a phone that is a phone; none of this smart malarkey”

The day was a series of presentations showing the latest offerings in Microsoft technology. Some of it looked quite exciting; some looked “yeah but when would I ever use it”, and a lot looked somewhat complicated.

And the food was good.


Farcebook Epic Fail #1. A message on my News Feed this morning: “it’s so-and-so’s birthday today. Send him a greeting”. Well I would – except I went to his funeral last year.

Farcebook Epic Fail # 2: further down my News Feed, someone had done just that.


Slight cockup on the planning front. While I was out SJAing today, one of my colleagues asked if I could help cover an event at the end of the month. It’s a Simon and Garfunkel tribute act with, apparently, good reviews.

“Well, I could cover that, and buy CGF a ticket to come along and watch too”, I thought, so went ahead and ordered a ticket. Then went to book myself as first aid cover – only to find someone had got there already.

Luckily, I’d had the foresight to book CGF a seat where there was an empty one next to it, so was able to go back and book myself that seat.


parkrun yesterday – slowly getting faster as the course dries out. I did an extra lap and caught CGF up about half way round. OK, a bit more than half way.

A council in Bristol has decided it wants to charge parkrun for the use of its park. You may have missed this, as the media didn’t really pick up on it. I’ve seen the council’s statement, outlining their reasons. Some reasons may have a valid foundation; others probably don’t. And some make no sense whatsoever. There are 893 parkruns in the world – as far as I know, 892 councils / landowners allow the parkrun free use of the park. Draw your own conclusions.


Almost forgot: remember that note I discovered on the recorder? It was C. The note I though was C was C Sharp – which explains why it sounded off-key.

There must be some lesson in there of how memory of actions is stronger than memory of knowledge. I could play the correct note when I didn’t think about it, but when thinking about it I misremembered.


D1 dropped round for a chat yesterday afternoon (depriving me of my sleep time). Well, she really popped round to drop some concert tickets through the door.

I heard the letterflap go and saw something fall to the floor. “Oh, a junk flyer,” I thought.

Then I thought “hang on, that sounded a bit heavy for a flyer, and it seems to be in an envelope”

Then I thought “and the blurred image I saw through the frosted glass looked a bit like D1”

And finally I put two and two together: “Oh, it was D1 dropping in the concert tickets”, and CGF went out and called her back for a cup of tea.


Time for a closing tune. And with the thoughts of a Simon and Garfunkel tribute act, it has to be this:


previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!