Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Hanging from cliffs
21 August 2016 19:04


A-Level results came out this week. This was the cause of much anxiety and trepidation in the CGF household. CS1 needed three A’s to get to medical school.

Thursday morning the results were published. CS1 got …

Let me give you the final instalment of our Scotland trip


We had a daytrip to Edinburgh. As ever, I was reminded that one day is nowhere near enough to see Edinburgh. We were a week or so too early for the fringe, but there were still some interesting street performances – and the obligatory piper

We started at Our Dynamic Earth – an exhibition / museum covering the formation of the earth, from big bang through volcanoes and ice ages, and then a look at the different habitats. Part geological, part natural history. Some really good audio-visual displays.

After that we walked up the royal mile (“do you know where you’re going?” “Of course I do”) to the castle esplanade, then back to the Camera Obscura. Again, this is one of the must-see attractions in Edinburgh – and the oldest purpose-built tourist attraction. Apart from the Camera Obscura, giving views over the whole city* and surrounding area, the building is crammed with different types of optical illusion and visual trickery.

*except the top of Arthur’s Seat – because a church spire blocks the view

Edinburgh was probably our longest trip. Other days we stayed local to the accommodation – there were several forest trails to explore. I fell in (feet only) to a stream while trying to get a good photo of a waterfall. It wasn’t too deep, only coming up to my shins – which was lucky, as my phone was in my thigh pocket.

I found what I thought were winberries. “Should I eat them?” I asked. “I’m not agreeing to anything,“ replied CS3, “because I don’t want to be responsible if you die”

One of the forest trails had a hide where we watched the squirrels (proper squirrels - red ones). And a jay that landed and stayed around for a few minutes.


She only bloody done it!! Three A*’s, and another A* in the extended project. Lots of proudness in the CGF household.

Some students in the year below have asked her what the secret is to getting such good grades. “Well, “ she replies, “first you have to be prepared to work hard”. Don't think they were expecting that - they hoped there was an easier way!

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!