Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Family reunion part 1
06 October 2016 21:19


The family reunion and weekend celebrations went well. There was one “minor disagreement” early Thursday evening but, as Little Sis said, we were bound to have an argument sooner or later – it’s just that we weren’t expecting it to be so soon. And after that hiccup we all got on famously.

To get the reunion into perspective: it’s the first time I’ve seen Little Sis for at least 8 years; the first time both sisters and I have been together for about 14 years; the first time Little Sis has been to the UK for 20 years; and the first time The Aged has seen the three of us together for 28 years!

Thursday morning we went to sort out flowers and balloons and stuff for the party, and visited the venue to give them the final arrangements. Despite giving final numbers at the beginning of the week, we’d had two people cancel on Thursday, and then another four just as we were driving off on Friday. Admittedly they were for genuine reasons, but you’d think people would make a bit more of an effort. There were actually another two cancellations, but I kept quiet about those as The Aged was already stressing about the ones he did know about.

The shopping seemed to go OK, considering. Considering what? Considering that going shopping with my sisters is never a pleasant experience – particularly Big Sis who seems to be unable to walk past a shop without going in, irrespective of whether it’s relevant to the intention of the trip (or, indeed whether shopping at all is the intention of the trip). It also took us far longer than strictly necessary to get out of the house in the first place – the usual problem of Person A not quite ready, so Person B starts to do something and then they are not ready when Person A is, but that doesn’t matter because Person C has now started something …

After the shopping trip we went for a pub lunch – at a pleasant pub by the canal – and then sisters headed off into the nearest city for more shopping. BiL and I declined, and headed to the Donnington Park Formula 1 museum, which we guessed would be generally more entertaining and less stressful.

It was an interesting collection. I’m not a great F1 fan, but enjoyed looking at the wide selection of cars. In addition to the F1 cars, there were some historic military vehicles, and a few “normal” vintage cars.

After that we went to East Midlands airport to see whether we could find a wrapping service for Big Sis’s suitcases (remember them?). You know, one of those places that wrap your luggage in extra-strong cling film. We couldn’t. She resorted to wrapping them in bubble wrap – but did admit that she should have bought them in NZ, as they were far more hassle and costly than she had anticipated (who knew?).

On our way back to The Aged’s we had to go back to the hotel, as we now had one extra guest. What is it with people? Why can’t they make their minds up?

Friday early evening I went to check in to the Motel we were staying at that night, going via a supermarket to buy something for breakfast. I was going to run back from the motel, so emptied my pockets before leaving. Halfway to the supermarket I realised the emptying my pockets had included my wallet, so turned round to go back. Getting back to The Aged’s I found my wallet had been in my pocket all the time. Doh! A waste of time I could have done without – I still had to rearrange the seating plan to allow for the people who weren’t coming (we were able to drop one table) – but that turned out to be easier than expected.

CGF and CS3 arrived soon after 9:00 and, after a quick chat with The Aged and Little Sis (Big Sis had already gone to bed) we headed back to the Motel. We had a family room (one double; two singles), and CS3 took the duvet and pillows from the spare bed (and my second pillow) and built herself a small cocoon. “This is like a real hotel” said CGF. “No," corrected CS3, “it’s like a sleepover”.

Saturday morning we were up bright and early, and did a Tourist parkrun (only CGF, CS3 and I – the others thought there wasn’t time, and they were probably right. They had to go and sort out the decorations; all I had to do was pin up the table plan and pick up The Ageds!).

After we got back to the motel, the staff thought we had already checked out and came in to clean the room. They were most apologetic about the confusion, and came back a few minutes later to offer us a free breakfast bag for disturbing us. I declined – it wasn’t as if they had really disturbed us (or, if they had, they were now doing it again!), and the breakfast bags aren’t really that good.

And so to the party and the rest of the weekend. I will tell you about those next time.

previous - next

Recent Entries

So close - 25 July 2020
two one five six - 27 June 2020
What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!