Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Three coincidences and two aliens
22 October 2016 22:39


Coincidence 1

As I was walking home from a brief trip to Smalltown centre (don’t blink or you’ll miss it) yesterday I passed a supermarket (Ocado) delivery van. About four hours later, on my way down to Eastleigh, I followed what may well have been the same van. OK, I can’t be sure it was the same van – but it did have the same customer endorsement printed on the back.

Interlude 1

Brotherhood of Man, the long departed (and not greatly lamented) pop group were on TV this evening.

“I don’t remember them,“ said CGF. “Who were they?”
“A UK version of Abba – but not nearly as good”, I replied.
“Oh. What were they famous for?” she asked.
“Er, trying to be like Abba and not really succeeding”.

Don’t think you will find a better description than that.

Aliens 1

I was delayed in my departure from Smalltown yesterday because the aliens had hidden my house keys. I looked in every place where I put them – and in a few places where I don’t, such as the fridge and laundry basket. Eventually – and just as I was resigning myself to using my spare keys – the aliens advised me to move the picture frame behind which they had hidden the keys.

Coincidence 2

Last week’s parkrun was a pacing event – there were a number of runners acting as pacemakers for different times. After half a km I noticed I was in striking distance of the 25 minute pacemaker. If I could keep up for the remaining 4.5 km, I could beat my PB of 25:26. It was a bit of an effort (OK, let’s get some credit here: it was a lot of effort) but I managed – 77th position and 24:44.

This week there were no pacemakers. What would happen? Would you believe it – a double coincidence! 77th position and 24:44.

Interlude 2

I know that some of the people reading this are geeks, so hopefully you will share my dislike of notices such as “78% of our energy is renewable”. Complete rubbish. Energy cannot be created or destroyed; it can only be changed from one form to another. On that basis, and depending on how you look at it, either no energy is renewable or all energy is renewable.

Energy from renewable sources, yes. Renewable energy, no

Coincidence 3

We took the train to Southampton this afternoon. It was an enjoyable day out – we found a music-based café in the city centre. On our way in, seats opposite us were occupied by a young family – noticeable because the father had an injured leg and was on crutches.

On our way home, that same family walked into Southampton station at the same time as us.

Interlude 3

As we walked away from the booking office (to use the traditional term) at the railway station (to use the correct term), CS3 asked me what ticket she should ask for if she were travelling alone.

“You say ‘a half (or child) return please’,“ I explained, “ and when they ask ‘where to?’ you reply ‘well back here, of course”.

Aliens 2

Planning to do some decorating this weekend, I popped into B&Q to buy a few supplies – masking tape, sponge, and size.

Later in the evening I started the preparation work. The masking tape and sponge were still in the boot (US trunk) of the car, but the aliens had run off with the packet of size.

I turned out the boot. Pulled everything out and searched thoroughly. Then pulled it all out again and put it back in tidily. Still no packet of size.

The buggers returned it today – slipped it down between a tin of pain and the edge of the box, hoping I wouldn’t find it.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!