Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

kick off 2017
02 January 2017 20:56


Aaagh, back to work tomorrow. Will be a bit of a shock after two weeks (all but a day) off, but I’m sure it won’t be long until I forget I’ve been away at all.

We’ve had a good Christmas break, celebrating Christmas and New Year, and completing five – yes five – parkruns. As well as the usual Saturday events, we did one on Christmas Day and another on New Year’s Day and another on New Year’s Day. No, that isn’t an unintended repetition at the end of the last sentence – we really did do two parkruns on New Year’s Day.

Southampton’s parkrun was at 1030, and as it’s only a 10-minute drive from Eastleigh, we had plenty of time to run at Eastleigh then go and run at Southampton. We are so crazy. Then we went to Weatherspoon’s for a burger and beer brunch. PB at Southampton, btw.

Christmas Eve, CGF and I went to the carol service at the local Baptist Church (we walk past it on the way to town and had seen it advertised) but couldn’t persuade any of the CS’s to join us. It was a great service and there were mince pies and mulled wine afterwards. Some carols, readings, and short drama pieces, giving a slightly different perspective on the story – which were written and acted better than you might expect. Singing was led by a small band, but it did include a trumpet and clarinet (or similar brass and woodwind instruments) which is infinitely better than guitars alone.

Christmas Day there was just the five of us. CS1 was working – but a split shift so she was able to come home for present opening and dinner. Successfully cooked by me, delivered on time and kept more-or-less under control.

Boxing Day we drove to Yorkshire to spend a couple of nights with CGF’s brother. Unfortunately, his kids were ill – some kind of heavy cold / flu-like symptoms – so weren’t able to do too much. We (the not-ill ones) took a walk round the lake to the retail outlet and did a few bits of essential shopping – I needed a hat and gloves, as I’d left mine at home, and bought some new shoes. All in all the shopping took me about two minutes (CS3 chose the hat for me as the black one I had picked was “too boring”), so CS3, granddad and I went to Costa while CGF and CS1 finished their shopping.

I wouldn’t like to say they were a long time, but CS3 was able to top up her Pokéballs from the same Pokéstop at least five times – and you can’t use the same Pokéstop twice within five minutes. Also on the walk, CS3 and I took diversions to visit other Pokéstops: “I like walking with you as you let me take these detours. Mum would just say ‘no, let’s go straight home’”. I learnt more than I ever wanted to know (that being anything) about squirtels and weedles and caterpies and rattatatas. I’m not sure whether Pokémon Go is still hip and trendy, but CS3 doesn’t let being hip and trendy get in the way of having fun, which is a good thing.

We headed back home Wednesday, dropping in to The Ageds for lunch (and more pressies) on the way. Thursday and Friday were quiet at-home days, but we went to see some friends on Friday evening.

Today I have bought myself a new laptop and notebook in the sales, and have spent the afternoon trying to set up the software that I want, and remove the software that the manufacturer thinks that I want. Over the next week or so I need to start coping files over. I should use the opportunity to sort out my personal files – delete the ones I no longer need, and reorganise the folder structure of those that are left – but probably won’t.

Happy New Year.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!