Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Burns and scalds
26 January 2017 22:20


You know how a series of a small, seemingly insignificant events can sometimes build up into something more important?

When I bought my new (to me) car in 2015, I took out a payment plan to cover the servicing costs. I pay a small amount each month and that covers the cost of my annual (or, in my car’s case, biennial (or 20,000 miles, whichever comes sooner)) service.

In October, the payment wasn’t taken. I wasn’t overly worried – probably an administration error, and it will be collected next month. It wasn’t. OK, so maybe they’ve stopped collecting because the fund has built up enough to cover a service. When no money was taken in December I thought I better check so wrote a letter to the collection agency.

Meanwhile, my car service had become due so I went on to Google to find the phone number of the dealership. “Citroen Basinghole” should find it. Well, it did, but the name of the dealership wasn’t as I remembered. OK, I couldn’t remember the exact name of the dealership but it was different to the one Google was telling me. It was unlikely there are two Citroen dealerships in Basinghole, but I checked the google map – sure enough, it was in the same place.

I phoned to book the service, explaining that I had this payment plan, but the receptionist seemed to take a bit of time finding my details.

Now I received a reply to my aforementioned letter. “… blah blah blah … the dealership went bust … blah blah blah … as we passed all money collected on to the delaer, you’re stuffed … blah blah balh”. Or words to that effect.

I don’t know whether the new dealership will honour the payments already made, or whether I’ve lost the money – I’ll find out tomorrow. Though at the end of the day it’s only the cost of a service, so not a life-changing amount.


“CS3, why are you starting your homework at 10 pm?”

“It’s not my fault – you told me to watch that TED talk on procrastination”

There’s no answer to that!


Right, I’m going to have a whisky in honour of Burns Night. Which actually was yesterday, but I’m not going to let me that stop me. And it’s way better than a Fosters in honour of Australia Day. "Australians don't spell beer with four x's out of ignorance"

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!