Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Two days late
22 October 2017 16:10


I was going to write and post this on Friday evening, but CS3 got me into a long philosophical and theological conversation instead.

It was too interesting and mutually educational to interrupt. One of those conversations that seamlessly drifts from one topic to another. We covered ideas such as: images of heaven and hell; monotheism vs polytheism; the role and purpose of saints - and how they differ from prophets; the practicality of praying for a parking space; and the ethics of abortion. Not bad for a 15-year old.

But today, I have peace. CS3 has gone to Rome on school trip. She had to be at school at 0400 this morning, so we were up at stupid o’clock to take her there – even though it would have been a perfectly legitimate occasion to play the “I’m not your real dad; I don’t have to do that” card.


I went to buy some eggs yesterday. Eggs come in various different quantities – 6, 10, 12, 15. I bought 12, as buying anything other than multiples of half-dozen seems wrong. Like buying milk in quantities other than pints. Shouldn’t be allowed.


I’ve been suffering from three or four bad insect bites on my legs this week. In the interests of physiological accuracy, I should really say that my legs have reacted badly to three or four insect bites.

I can’t remember the last time I reacted so badly to insect bites. But then I can’t remember the last time I stood in a grassy area on a warm autumn morning, wearing shorts and having brought my body to an insect-attractive temperature and level of CO2 emissions. What was going on?

I gave blood Friday evening, so decided to not run parkrun Saturday morning, but marshalled instead. However, I did run down to the course – hence the shorts. I then had to run to my position, as I was also having my 100-shirt presented, but the Run Director did this at the end of the briefing rather than the beginning. Consequently, I set off for my marshal point (the 200-ish metre point) at the same time as the runners headed to the start, so was in a bit of a rush to get there. I made it – just


We went to arrange our wedding cake at the weekend. The lady wasn’t there when we arrived, but her husband made us a cup to tea and chatted. We explained how we had been put in touch through a common friend – whom I‘ve known for many years.
“Oh, if you know D, you must know Ted and Alice”, he said
“Ted and Alice?” I queried.
“D’s parents”

Oh ... OK ... I know D’s parents, but they’re not named Ted and Alice. What do I say? English dilemma.

I decided to take the easy option, and admitted to knowing D’s parents but glossed over the mis-naming.

Which would have been OK if the conversation had moved on to something else, but he kept going on about this mysterious Ted and Alice, and how his wife and Alice had been friends since school, blah blah, blah. He even brought out a photo album and I think he was going to show us photos, but luckily, he couldn’t find any, and soon after his wife returned so we were diverted to wedding cakes.


Friday, I had a productive day, and tidied the garage – something that has been overdue several years. There were several levels of rubbish: there was rubbish I’d stored there pending a trip to the recycling centre; there were things that I’d identified as needing disposal but hadn’t yet moved to a rubbish pile; and there was stuff that was surplus to requirements but I hadn’t got around to sorting out.

It was a successful morning – and took less time than I expected. Three car-loads to the recycling centre (though the third had to wait until Saturday morning as I forgot it is winter hours so it closes at 1600), and I reduced my stuff to three tool boxes, and a bit. And another bit. And a couple more bits. OK, quite a lot of bits. But still a vast improvement – and I’ve been able to chuck two five-drawer chests of drawers.


I had intended to get my hair cut too, but the only barber in the shop was the old guy who’d given me a rubbish haircut last time, and whom I was under strict instructions from the Future Mrs Barefoot not to go to again.

So, I went to the bakery next door and spent the hairdressing money on doughnuts and cakes instead.


The government has decided that the house-buying process is too slow and stressful, so they are launching another review to see how to speed it up. This “speed up” review is going to take eight weeks – oh the irony. Let’s hope they come up with something better than the ineffective and short-lived Home Information Packs they tried last time (vendor has to arrange surveys before putting the house on the market, but as these are only valid for three months they are out of date by the time the house is sold).


previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!