Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Phone trials
27 November 2017 22:10


You may recall from my last post that my mobile phone had broken. OK, let’s be accurate about this; I laid on my mobile phone and it broke. I successfully ordered a new one, and it arrived last week.

The new phone is everything I want from a phone. It makes phone calls; it sends text messages. It also has snake and a torch, which are things that I might want from a mobile phone. It’s probably got a whole host of other things that I may or may not want, but it will take me a couple of years to find those. It doesn’t connect to tinternet, which isn’t a problem as it isn't something I want (or see the need for) a phone to do. It also doesn't have a flip top which, I am reliable informed by a teenager, makes it uncool – but do I care? All good.

Except for one problem ...

It needs a smaller SIM card. I need to go to the phone shop to get a blank SIM card, and then follow some as-yet-undefined process to transfer the number from my old SIM to the new one. I’ve not successfully been to the phone shop yet. “How difficult can it be?” I hear you ask. Well, not difficult, but the two times I walked past the shop over the weekend, it was full of people trying to buy phones. I couldn’t be bothered to wait five minutes for an assistant to be free to serve me.

So I am still using my old phone – the one I had before the one I broke. Except, after trying to swap SIM cards on Thursday evening, I couldn’t switch it back on so I reverted to an even older (and probably even more uncool) phone for the weekend. Sunday evening I solved the problem – I had been using the wrong on-switch.

Oh, one other thing about my old phone. I discovered that it does Bluetooth. I never knew that before! See, I wasn't joking about taking a couple of years to find functions on my new phone.


Christmas shopping at the weekend. It was reasonably successful. By this I mean that I managed to find something in the first store we went to (always important as it helps to prevent me from thinking the whole exercise is a waste of time) and I found sufficient presents that will permit me to let the Future Mrs Barefoot to find the rest without it looking as if I have done nothing towards the shopping experience.

I also bought the Christmas cards, so will try to get those written this week (probably a try that won’t succeed).

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!