Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

It’s a Snow Day
01 March 2018 22:11


Lashings of snow and wind have been hitting Britain today. My neck of the woods seems to have been relatively unscathed so far, but I’ve still not ventured out since going to fill the car with petrol early afternoon.

I don’t think the temperature has risen above minus 3 Celsius for the last three days, and the wind chill makes it feel even colder. I took some rubbish out to the bins (US skips) this afternoon; they’re about 50 feet away but my gloveless hands were blue by the time I got back inside.

Yeh, I know it’s small beer for you mid-westerners and Canadians, but it’s unusual for us.

There was a small covering of snow on the roads this morning, which made them slippery in a couple of places, but generally OK. The wind tended to blow the snow away drifts so the road was largely clear (and had been gritted). Slow journey to work though, because a car in front decided 20 mph was the maximum speed. I know you have to be careful, but when the layer of snow is so thin you can see the colour of the road underneath I think you can go a bit faster than a milk float.

Soon after I got to work, my boss’s boss came in to say “the official line is that while the place is open you have to stay and work, but if you’re worried about travel, just go home early”.

Then about 10 the announcement came “it’s a snow day today and tomorrow; we’ll be organising a staggered exit from 11”. Half an hour later the boss’s boss came back and said “you know what happens with these staggered exits; they always forget about us. Just go home”. So, we did.

We’re not sure what the company line on making up hours will be. Boss’s boss’s opinion is that if we made it in today, we shouldn’t have to make them up – today or tomorrow (rationale being that if we made it to work today, we would have done so tomorrow).

Roads home were a lot easier than this morning – no excessively slow cars, and the roads were clearer. I think they’d been re-gritted.

I’ve spent the afternoon usefully, by sorting out the numerous companies and organisations I need to send a change of address notification to.

The weather forecast suggests the weather is going to gradually improve over the weekend; we might even see positive temperatures on Sunday. This is good as I am travelling to the Midlands tomorrow for a weekend training course. I have loaded the car with blankets and sleeping bag and enough emergency food to last me the weekend - or at least until Saturday lunchtime.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!