Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Notes from a small airport
07 September 2017 10:14


[written while waiting for a plane change]

I intended to wear my walking shoes on the plane – they are quite comfortable and, as they look like trainers (sneakers), when I arrive at NZ and they ask “have you got walking books” I can say “no – just trainers (sneakers)”. My walking shoes were in the boot (trunk) of my car and my cunning plan was to swap my normal shoes for walking shoes as we kept for the airport. That plan had one teeny-weeny flaw – my car was in Smalltown and we were in Eastleigh.

Then, as we left for the airport I had a vague recollection: I may have taken the walking shoes out of the car and put them in the suitcase when I packed Thursday evening. I can’t remember for sure – it will be an excitement to look forward to when I arrive at mum’s and unpack. [addendum. I hadn’t]

Check in was quick and smooth – my usual thought as I waited in the queue (in line): "why does it take these people so long? All you’ve got to do is show your passport and get your bags weighed." I tend not to bother with online check-in. In my experience, you have to queue for so long at the baggage drop-off you might just as well queue to check in - and this was empirically proved when someone who joined the baggage drop-off line at about the same time that I joined the check-in line only reached the front of that queue shortly before I reached the front of mine.

My second thought about airports is "duty free – why?" I mean, who buys this stuff? I guess people do or it wouldn’t be on sale. I find the duty-free stores are stacked with the luxury brands that, even at duty free prices, are more expensive than I would spend on the high street.

I was wandering around LHR waiting for my flight gate to be called. Eventually it came up – Gate 20 - just as I was walking past ... Gate 20. Bonus.

I had a window seat on the plane – awkward for getting out to go to pee, but does have the advantage of a space between seat and wall that is big enough for a couple of books. Consequently, I peed little but read lots.

I think I dozed a bit on the flight – but have no idea how long I was asleep as I didn’t check the time at all – it’s always depressing when you think "we must be over half-way by now" to find you’re barely quarter of the way.

I had treated myself to some noise-cancelling headphones. What an asset. They are awesome – really do cut out the background noise of the flight.

I had only monopoly money currency in my wallet (OK, I did have some NZD as well as the GBP) so withdraw USD20 from a cash machine at the airport to use en-route. At Kuala Lumper, I bought refreshments for 15 Ringgits, and paid with a £20 US Dollar bill. I received just over 60 ringgits in change. Being a bit geeky, I decided to work out how much my purchase cost in USD. Being a bit dim (I’ll give myself the excuse of being jet-lagged) I started to work it out with pen and paper before I realised how easy the sum was.

Right, time to visit the loo and change my shirt before the next flight.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!