Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Chance meetings and quotable quotes
25 July 2013 22:13


1) Chance meeting #1. I went to the co-op to get some milk and ran into someone I know. OK, the population of Smalltown is low, so the chances of meeting someone you know in the co-op at some point are probably quite high. But what made it significant, and why I am bothering to tell you about it (apart from the fact that it fits into the underlying theme of this post), is that earlier that day I had been thinking "I've not seen xxx for weeks".

2) I then forgot I had bought the milk and left it in the car overnight. Seeing as the temperature didn't fall below 20/68 overnight, I decided not to drink it.

3) I went to CGF Sprog3's junior school leaving presentation. Several groups of children presented short pieces on something they had done at the school. Each group introduced themselves and all said a polite "thank you for listening" at the end of their piece. It was well put together and a very entertaining 90 minutes - indeed, far more entertaining than the 90-minute departmental meeting I had been to earlier in the day.

4) Quotable Quote #1. At the end of the proceedings some of the leavers' "six word mottoes for life" were displayed. My favourite was "be yourself - everyone else is taken".

5) Chance Meeting #2. We went to the posh-persons supermarket. The checkout assistant looked at CGF Sprog3 and asked "is your name Sprog3?" (though obviously using the real name). Turns out that about 18 months ago she (the assistant) had been to the school to help out at an arts day. I suggested that Sprog3 must have been either the best or the worst in the group to be remembered after such a long time (I suspect it was the former).

6) Chance Meeting #3: Walking back to the car I heard a shout "hi ruby" from behind me. It was someone else I know from my days in Eastleigh who, coincidentally, also went to CGF's school (but wasn't taught by her).

7) I spent most of Saturday doing bits of DIY at CGF's new house. It was proper man-DIY too - I used my workmate and electric drill. The gate post had come out of line, so I fixed that; then I adjusted the bolt on the gate so that it worked (as the gate had warped). I also adjusted the lock on the shed as that door had also warped. In fact, the shed needs a fair bit more TLC in the near future. But at least it is secure now (well, as secure as a wooden garden shed can ever be).

8) I picked up a few splinters form the gate which I thought a bit unusual. I've been through lots of garden gates and haven't generally had a problem with splinters. Later I noticed that the gate couldn't be closed from the outside because the latch had broken. I bought a new latch and fitted that. It was then that I realised that the two events (splinters and broken latch) were related. I'd picked up splinters because I had to hold the wood to open and close the gate. Sometimes I can be both amazingly stupid and amazingly clever at the same time.

9) Quotable quote #2. CGF walked past while I was in the middle of my manly-DIY. She noticed the numerous tools strewn about and asked "do you really need to use all these tools?" "YES!!!"

10) CGF Sprog2 is doing some holiday cover for a paper round. For as much of an excuse for an evening walk as anything else we decided to walk round the route to make sure he knew where he was going. We needn't have worried; he had it well in hand, and walked quite a way in front of us and pointed out the houses.

11) Quotable Quote #3: "you're using the skills you've learnt at scouts to navigate", CGF suggested. "No mum, I'm a man. That mean I can read a map"

12) Luther Blisset transferred from Watford to AFC Milan, and then back again. He's possibly the only player to have done this between these clubs. Are you impressed that I know that? My colleagues were, when I was THE ONLY ONE to get that question right on the daily-but-not-done-every-day office quiz.

13) Sunday evening CGF's ex-brother-in-law and family (well, gf and daughter) visited. They were on their way back to London from a day at the beach. Is it odd that we should be entertaining the brother of my gf's ex-husband? I didn't think so; the Aged still visits my mum's siblings and they have been separated for 25 years.

14) I managed to forget my house keys coming home on Sunday evening. I didn't realise until I was half-way home - and then had to drive to three-quarters of the way home until I could turn round. Fool.

15) I saw in the news today that the Spain is going to have three days of official mourning for the lives lost in the train crash. Set me wondering. Does Britain ever have days of official morning? Even for the Princess of Wales, although there was a lot of mourning (much of it possibly hypocritical), I don't think any of it was official.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!