Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

short update
04 September 2013 18:36


1) On Friday I heard that the piss-poor TV programme "through the keyhole" was being resurrected. The original was presented by Sir David Frost. On Sunday, break-time banter during my training session discussed the number of people who die on cruise ships. On Monday I learnt that David Frost had died on a cruise ship. Coincidence? Or something more sinister?

2) Saturday morning I finished the shed roof and decided that the rest of the shed could do with a coat of wood preservative. I tried the Tom Sawyer trick of persuading others how much fun it would be - way more fun than anything else they could imagine - but only CGF Sprog 3 was naive enough to believe me. Actually that's not fair; she was genuinely keen to help and was adamant that I didn't finish the painting until she had had time do some. As it was a sunny evening the painting included attempts to paint our silhouettes against the shed wall, which wasn't easy as the shadow kept moving when we moved the paint brush.

3) CGF Sprog 3 wanted blue wood preservative but we couldn't find any, so got red (cedar red) instead. This was great as I could paint it on my arm and pretend I had a sun tan. And, when asked "what would happen if someone breaks into the shed while it is still wet?" I could give the repartee "we will catch them red-handed". (Sorry!)

4) Last Thursday I got round to opening my mail for the last couple of weeks. Just as well I did, as one of the brown envelopes was from the DVLA telling me I had two days to renew my road tax or my car would be crushed into something the size of an oxo cube. Or something like that. Luckily you are given five days grace if you renew online, so I now have a brown envelope that I hope contains a new tax disc. I better open it soon - possibly even tonight.

5) Something I've never been able to get my head around is speakers. How can a vibrating cardboard cone produce such a variety of sounds - and some of them at the same time? Why doesn't it just sound like a vibrating cone of cardboard?

6) Removed owing to lack of interest

7) I sometimes wish that radio newsreaders would enunciate more clearly. This morning I wondered what was so special about "pilot coloured badges" until I realised it was "pilot cull of badgers"

8) All for now. I'm going out to beer and skittles tonight.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!