Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Who and FA
24 November 2013 22:26


Fifty years and a day ago, the first Dr Who episode was broadcast. Fifty years and two days ago saw the deaths of J F Kennedy, Aldous Huxley and C S Lewis. I wonder if any or all of them were regenerated in to Dr Who. Well, probably not, as they were real people and Dr Who is a fictional character.

I watched - and enjoyed - the 50th anniversary episode last night. I'm not such of a Whovian to have been able to spot any of the references, other than the long scarf a la Tom Baker - who also made a cameo appearance. Apologies if you've not watched it yet but intend to and I have just spoiled the surprise.

Was interesting to see all the assistants in the BBC3 show afterwards but would have been better to see some of them closer* ("some of them" being the ones who I remember - which, isn't many of them.). I'd forgotten that Peter Purves was a Dr Who Assistant once upon a time.

*May be they did later, but we only watched for a few minutes.

I had a meeting with the person investigating my slip from last week. The hole where I slipped (well, the hole around which was the diversion where I slipped) has been filled in (not sure whether the two events are connected) so there's not much to investigate any more. But he did buy me a coffee - I thought it would have been churlish to complain that when I asked for an Americano I meant a black coffee. And they (i.e. being the hole diggers) are going to make sure that diversion routes are gritted at the end of the day if the weather is icy. Though I think I slipped on water not ice - water quite possibly created by the thawing of the ice owing to the grit.

I lost the gizmo I need to log on to my online banking, so phoned and asked for a new one. After two weeks - and seeing as they had said five working days - I phoned again and asked what had happened. And had a mini-argument with the...oh, I was going to say "call girl". That's not right. Anyway, after explaining who I was and why I was calling she said:
"I may have to ask you for details of some recent transactions"
"That will be difficult. As I've just explained I can't get onto my online banking to have a look"
"Please bear with me, but we do have to do these security checks"
"But I am not asking for any information about my account, and I am not asking you to make any transactions. All I want is for you to send me the gizmo I asked for two weeks ago"
And so on for two or three more exchanges.
I know it's not their fault; it's the scripts they have to read. But you would think they would allow the call girls (whoops, the word slipped in again) to use some initiative (or should that be "have some initiative") and realise which parts of the script are irrelevant.

We went to see this trio on Friday. Brilliant. Very good performance - both the songs and the linking bits in between. Very funny - the trio have perfect comedy timing (but I suppose you would expect musicians to have good timing). This one will appeal to teachers. Or people who used to be teachers. Or people who know teachers or people who used to be teachers.


previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!