Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Painting Plates
07 December 2013 22:51


I went plate-painting today. Not, possibly, my first choice for a Saturday afternoon's entertainment, but it was more fun than I expected (and appealed to a range of ages) and I wouldn't mind doing it again. And the quietest child's birthday party I've ever been to - not that I have been to that many.

Obviously, with no artistic bone in my body, I was not going to attempt a picture. Instead I went for a mathematical / geometric pattern. It would have turned out better if I;d spend a bit more time at the beginning working out the segments. And taken a protractor and pair of compasses with me. But not bad for a first attempt. The sequence of colours on each spoke is different, yet as each colour goes round the wheel it moves one position inwards or outwards. Neat, hey?

 photo 20131207_154150_zps8461a48a.jpg


Not a good week for my memory this week. One evening I put the microwave on to heat up my dinner (double portions cooked the night before) and it wasn't until the popty ping popty pinged that I noticed that I hadn't put the meal inside. Then I left the hotplate on overnight, and forgot my work pass one morning.


Memory is generally fallible. Often we don't remember events accurately - we tend to remember how we interpreted them at the time, or what we thought happened.

For example, I gave someone who lives near me a lift home. As he lives so near me I drove into my car park and he walked from there. Obviously we would have exchanged a few "good night" pleasantries as he departed, but the following day couldn't remember anything we had said. I couldn't even remember his getting out of the car. Then I remembered: he hadn't walked from my car park, as originally planned, at all. I had dropped him off further down the road (possibly so he could pretend to his wife that he had walked home). Yet my initial recollection was of the intended event, not the actual event.

On another occasion I heard a radio announcer introduce a programme (King's Street Junior, if you're interested - and well worth a listen if you can find it on BBC Radio 4 Extra from time to time)) with the words "and now another chance to hear the final series of ... ". So I was somewhat surprised to find, a year or so later, a new series of the programme.

After some thought, I concluded that the announced had probably said "the last series". i.e. last = previous not last = final. I'd interpreted the words, and remembered my interpretation, not the actual words.


Office Christmas event this week. Following tradition (well, it's the third year we've done it - if we do it again next year it becomes ancient tradition) we are going for a curry. And the afternoon off afterwards. There's usually a bit of uncertainty about whether or not we can go home straight after the meal but this year it has been agreed in advance. Without quibble.


Back to the plate painting. When I said that I may not have to paint a plate as there will be enough people there without me, CGF Sprog 3's response was "oh, there goes our entertainment"

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!