Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Lucky for some
13 December 2013 20:14


One of my pet hates is when organisers of meetings / presentations etc. send out a copy of the PowerPoint "for those who were unable to attend". It's as if viewing the PowerPoint will give you all the information that you missed. No it well won't. PowerPoint (and other visual effects) should enhance the presentation; they are not the presentation in themselves. Without some commentary to explain the slides, the PowerPoint is largely useless. And if it isn't: a) there is far too much detail for those who did attend the presentation; b) what was the point of the presentation in the first place as everyone could have just viewed the PowerPoint.

Today I was sent a PowerPoint presentation in advance of a meeting. What's that all about? I then knew everything that was going to be covered. Did I still need to go?

I suppose I could have sat at the back and played Management-Speak bingo, if the accompanying email was anything to go by: "underlying vision" ... "aligned with the future direction" ... "journey is essential" ... "galvanise ourselves" ... "make the most of opportunities and challenges".

Last week at CGF Sprog 3's party we had Christmas crackers. One of her friends was amazed that I knew the answers to all the riddles. Never one to let an opportunity to wind-up an 11-year old, I replied "I write them - didn't CGF Sprog 3 tell you that my job is to write Christmas Cracker Jokes?"

The next morning (after a sleepover), CGF Sprog 3 kept up the pretence as I left to give a training course. "Going to teach people how to write Christmas cracker jokes", she explained. "Yes, "I replied, "And how to fold them inside the paper hats. It's not very difficult but some of the people we have working for us are a bit thick. I don't usually work Sundays but it's a busy time of year for us".

Of course, had I not been so intent in fooling children I might not have forgotten my laptop, which was quite essential for the training course seeing as it had the entire training package on it. Luckily the venue wasn't too far away and I was in plenty of time, so had time to come back and fetch it.

My Christmas preparations have continued. I've wrapped all the presents and sent the cards. I've even pulled out my Christmas playlist.

I am always in a little bit of awe at people who can wrap presents tidily. No matter how I try - measuring the paper, carefully folding, and pulling tight - I always seem to end up with extra folds and bits hanging off. Even on the simplest shape to wrap (which is most of them, seeing as one of my main criteria for choosing presents is "how easy will this be to wrap?").

We're going to meet The Ageds for lunch tomorrow - at a pub approximately half-way between us. The Aged has insisted on booking a table; I'm not sure it will be necessary at a village pub on Saturday lunchtime. I suppose it could go either way. If we're the only people in the place, I will laugh. If the pub is crowded I will keep quiet.

I wonder if he likes to book a table as then he thinks that we are going to a posh restaurant rather than just a pub

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!