Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

The Time Machine
28 January 2014 21:40


Following (though not directly) recent comments by Joistmonkey re online ads, I followed a link that showed me details of the profile that Google Ads has gleaned from my searches. Apparently I am a 24-35 old female, with interests in the following: Acting & Theatre; Arts & Entertainment; Calculators & Reference Tools; Classic Rock & Oldies; Country Music; Dogs; Humour; Newspapers; Pianos & Keyboards; Pop Music; Rap & Hip-Hop; Rock Music; Skins Themes & Wallpapers; Song Lyrics & Tabs; South East England. Some of those are vaguely correct but others are way off the mark.


I've discovered that Hannah Montana and Miley Cyrus are the same person. Shows how much attention I take of popular culture. I didn't even know that Hannah Montana is a fictional character. Oh whoops, I just googled "Hannah Montana" to see how to spell "Miley Cyrus". That will push my female credentials up, and reduce my age profile.


I forgot to tell you about my amazing psychic powers. Last weekend I correctly predicted what would be the next record played on the radio.

How was I so clairvoyant? Well, it was Pick of the Pops playing 1976. So far so good, but it's fairly unlikely I would know off the top of my head the chart hits of January 1976 except for one significant event in my childhood. In January 1976 The Aged bought a brand new stereo record player (it was a big event in those days*) and allowed my siblings and me to choose one single to play on it).

This was Big Sis's.

This was Little Sis's.

Those two had already been played, so it was only matter of time before the record I chose was played.

Even in those early days I had an excellent choice in music.

*Before that he had a mono record player with a separate second speaker that was brought out on special occasions. This speaker was bigger than the record player, needed a separate power supply, and never did what it was supposed to (unless it was supposed to make The Aged frustrated and angry)


It was Burns night on Saturday, so we had haggis, tatties and neeps. However, we had breast of haggis rather than leg so I couldn't tell whether it was haggis sinistra or haggis dextra.


I went shopping on Saturday morning. I needed to go to Marks & Spencer (because I had vouchers to spend) and Lidl (because I wanted one of their cheap-but-wonderful doughnuts). My score on the poshness-scale must fall somewhere between the two stores as I took a different bag to put my shopping in so no one would know I'd been to either. OK the bag was Sports Direct, so not sure where that falls - somewhere near Lidl I suspect. I'll leave you to ponder on why on earth I would have a Sports Direct bag.

Another shopping trip on Sunday when I bought shoes that I needed and trousers that I didn't. By which I mean that I didn't know that I needed until CGF suggested it.


I went to a pantomime (not by choice - I don't like pantomimes. But the alternative was football and I don't like football much either). The theatre was the former cinema in Romsey (poor-Man's-Salisbury) and is a fine example of 1930s art-deco cinema. Reminded me of the cinema I used to go to as a teenager. But back to the pantomime. Robin Hood. The scenery was very well painted. I still don't know what Maid Marion will do when she finds out that Robin Hood is a woman. And of course the Sheriff of Nottingham was never going to bulldoze Sherwood Forest - bulldozers hadn't been invented in the 13th century.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!