Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Thought I'd something more to say
03 March 2014 18:49


My mother always used to tell me that I'd forget my head if it weren't screwed on properly. On Friday I forgot to close the garage door before going away for the weekend. Luckily my neighbour closed it for me, which was kind of her. I will forgive her for putting non-recyclable materials in our shared recycling bin so it wasn't emptied. Though to be fair, it might not have been her - could have been anyone from the block.

CGF's and my weekends of live culture have continued. Of course, by "live culture" I mean visits to live musical and/or dramatic productions, not growing micro-organisms in petri-dishes. We saw an excellent production of Oliver by one of the Eastleighyouth theatre groups. Very good performance: not just the singing, acting and chorography stage-craft bits, but the set design and music too - the theatre group has its own musicians. I particularly liked the mournful violin fillers in Fagin's "reviewing the situation". It's actually the first time I've seen Oliver all the way through. I've seen bits of it, but never enough to glean the full story.

We have also been to a brilliant Pink Floyd tribute band. Really good musicians who properly captured the music. The set included Dark Side of The Moon in full - including the short break where you had to turn the record over. We took CGF Sprog 2 who thought it was amazing, even though he was the youngest in the audience by about three decades.

I sometimes wonder how tribute bands manage to capture the sound so authentically. People are individuals so must adopt their own style of playing. I suppose the tribute bands learn how to copy the musical style of the musicians they are impersonating.

I received a letter from an insurance company telling me that I might be entitled to compensation for mis-sold insurance. Not PPI; something different. It seems that there are a couple of grounds for claiming compensation and they tell me what they are so all I have to do is copy them from the letter to the claim form.

But here is the problem. I cannot, hand-on-heart, honestly say whether or not I was given this information when I took out the policy. I can't even remember taking out the policy. So I have no idea whether or not I am strictly entitled to the compensation.

Which brings me, in a round about way, to one of my beefs about the PPI claims. Yes, there are some people who might have been forced to take out the loan insurance, and there are some people who would have been ineligible to claim. But I can't help thinking that there are also a lot of people who reached the end of the loan term without needing to claim on the insurance and thought "therefore I didn't need the insurance" which isn't the same thing at all.

The letter also contains the rather clumsy statement "If you claim compensation you will also have cancelled your policy" which is a mixing of tenses that doesn't make a whole lot of sense.

Speaking of poor English, another organisation contacted me to say "We are currently working to update the contact database. We would be very grateful if would you allow us to update the system with your current contact details". I replied to ask for clarification of what they were asking; was it for my current contact details, or permission to update the contact database with the details they already had.

Here's a picture of the Pedants' Revolt. Led, of course, by Which Tyler.

 photo pedantsrevolt_zps63907daf.jpg

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!