Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

I wonder where the birdy is
18 March 2014 21:58


Spring is sprung, the grass is riz
I wonder where the birdie is.
The bird is on the wing
But that's absurd
The wing is on the bird

A rare (at least in the last few weeks) evening in this evening. I was able to take more time than usual over dinner (both preparing and eating) (sausages, potato, carrot, Swiss chard, cauliflower cheese washed down with a glass of wine).

If ever I write a Scandinavian-based novel (which is pretty unlikely), I think that a good name for a central character is Levittyy Helposti. Probably a gymnast or actress. I found the words on my tin of shaving foam and it translates as "spreads easily" (or, possibly, "reduces friction").

CGF gave me a copy of a maths challenge set for Years 10 and below (that's Fourth Form in old money). "You may need a sheet of paper to work them out" she advised. Well, hang on. I don't yet understand the questions enough to know what needs to be worked out.

After a bit more thought I've been able to work out answers for some of them. Not necessarily the right working out or answers. One of them boiled down to a three-way simultaneous equation (three unknowns; three equations). I was quite proud that I'd got that far, but then couldn't remember how to solve three-way simultaneous equations. I'll keep working at it. I remember that one way was to use a 3x3 matrix, but have forgotten how to find the inverse of a 3x3 matrix. I had a look on t'internet and it seemed far more complicated than I remembered.

In another I calculated that the surface area of a Viking's helmet was 3600 * pi cm2 which I suspect is not the right answer - far too large.

Pootling round Eastleigh at the weekend we saw The Witch twice, which is two times too many. Once she was sitting in the coffee area outside Costa, and the second time she was behind is in the queue to get a prescription at Boots (the pharmacy was closing at 1400, we got served at 1359: I hope it closed when she got there). I didn't speak to her on either occasion. No particular reason*. I just don't see why I should speak to her when I don't have to.

*OK, maybe there are 25,000 reasons not to speak to her.

In the evening we went to Spoons to meet some old friends of mine who I'd not seen for a while (except in Eastleigh town enter where we seem to bump into two of them quite regularly). We took CGF Sprog's 1 and 2 (3 was on a residential weekend with the EWOK orchestra) who were quite impressed by the food (one by the quantity; the other by the fact that the health option was both healthy and tasty) and want to go there for Mothers' Day Mothering Sunday. It's the one day in the year that mothers get a holiday - though technically they don't get a holiday on that day either.

CGF Sprog 3 is doing some sponsored activity at school for some or other charity. The first thing she did when she saw me on Sunday was push the sponsor form and a pen into my hand. "What about 'Hello, Ruby, nice to see you'?" I asked. But I did sponsor her, and got The Aged and mum to sponsor her too.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!