Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Half a dozen
26 April 2014 13:25


1) I use a rudimentary method to forecast the weather. It's called "today's weather will be similar to yesterday's". It doesn't' always work. Like yesterday. When I hung my laundry out before going to work I ignored the few drops of rain as it would be bright and sunny later, just like the day before. It wasn't. Within an hour it was pelting down with rain, and remained pretty much so for the rest of the day.

2) I think my neighbours may also use a rudimentary method to forecast the weather. It's called "If Ruby's put his washing out, it's going to rain".

3) I spoke to my mother at the weekend. A few of her siblings are not in the best of health. One had a nasty fall; another is waiting for a hip replacement; and one (who had a stroke a few years ago) is finding movement more difficult and may have to move to a nursing home. I suppose they are all octogenarians (or close) and that it goes with the territory, but even so it's a shame when people become less active and more dependent on others.

4) There is a children's TV programme where James Bolam plays the part of a grandfather. I remember when he played the part of a Likely Lad. Whatever happened to them?

5) Work this week was enlivened both by being four-day week and by having a fire drill. A slight hiatus in the fire drill when it was realised that no one had brought the roll call sheet (that hang by the exit door). There is now a sign on the door with an arrow pointing to the sheets: "take them with you when evacuating the building". Not that that will be much use when the door is open.

6) Can't remember what else I was going to write and I've left my notes behind. It will have to wait till next time.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!