Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Latest Catch up
25 August 2014 20:13


1) I left the freezer door open one day recently. And not just ajar, but completely wide open. All day. Hence a big cooking operation that evening and I now have lots of cooked meals in the freezer (again).

2) On our way to Scotland we passed the aftermath what appeared to have been a major accident on the M6 Toll. At least three vehicles involved and numerous emergency vehicles on scene. Seeing as there were only about six vehicles per kilometre at that time in the morning, I thought that getting three in the same place at the same time was somewhat against the odds.

3) On one short walk we walked under several chestnut trees. I was reminded (goodness only knows why) of a Dad's Army episode where the characters are standing in a room that is filling with water while; singing "Under the spreading chestnut tree". Now, I have only ever seen that episode once, and that was when I was very young (I've never heard that song anywhere else either). Consequently I can remember very little else about it (not even important details as to why a group of elderly men should be standing in a room that is filling with water). Knock me down with a feather but that VERY SAME episode was on TV in the evening. Coincidence, or something more sinister?

4) Who decides how long an alarm clock snooze function should rest for? I have alarm clocks where the snooze is four minutes, five minutes and ten minutes respectively. This is beginning to sound like one of those maths questions that ends with "how long before they all ring simultaneously again". It's slightly confusing as I have to remember which alarm I am using to work out how long I have snoozed for. The answer is twenty btw.

5) On our way back from Scotland we called in on a friend of CGF's at York. The route included the A66 to Scotch Corner, which is a beautiful road across the Pennines (or Pyrenees, as I mistakenly called them; well, range of hills starting with P and having an N in the middle. It's an easy mistake) with a poor reputation for safety but we emerged unscathed.

6) Is there a junction other than Scotch Corner that is so important (or well-known) that it features on road distance signs? And it is nowhere near Scotland.

7) After York we went to Sheffield and stayed overnight with CGF's parents, and brought them back to Eastleigh the following day. CGF's mother had prepared numerous bags of stuff (some useful, some not so useful) for CGF and family, so packing the car was a bit of a challenge, as it was already full with our luggage.

8) Our final stop-off on the journey home was with The Aged and Mrs The Aged. Yes, we let the respective parents meet each other. A very scary prospect - how stupid are we? Both couples are possibly as different from each other as could be reasonably imagined, but they got on very well together. CGF's parents were impressed by the hospitality offered, and my parents thought CGF's were a delightful couple and "we took to them right away". But then, CGF thinks her parents are barmy, and I think mine are, so maybe they aren't so different after all.

9) Monday (when I was still on holiday from work) we went on an overseas daytrip. It wasn't my idea. However, although I wouldn't want to work or live there, the Isle of Wight is not a bad place for a day out or a holiday (once you get over the cost of getting there. Apparently, mile-for-mile it is cheaper to fly first class to New York (though that may be an urban myth or inflated by hyperbole)). We went to Carisbrooke Castle, looked in vain for some decent fish and chips along Sandown sea front, and found a lovely little beach that we didn't have time to enjoy properly.

10) Back in Southampton we found (kind of by chance and coincidence) Southampton'ss secret (or at least not widely-advertised) fresh fish market and looked for a Chinese restaurant that a) wasn't closed because it was Monday and many restaurants close on Mondays b) wasn't closed because the kitchens were being refurbished c) wasn't closed because they hadn't paid the electricity bill. Eventually we found one that was OK but nothing to write home about - or even to blog about. Suffice to say that the tables were laid with spoon and fork and you had to ask for chop sticks.

11) And I was back to work on Tuesday. A fairly quiet week, on account of many people still being on holiday. I was told by one manager that another manager wanted me to set up a meeting, but it wasn't clear who to invite other than the said manger so I couldn't understand why she couldn't set it up herself. All to do with a piece of work that we have to do that, although minor, has a high-profile. Consequently, lots of managers are taking a deeper-than-strictly-necessary interest leaving me to think "leave me alone to do it; if I hit a problem I'll come back to you. If I do explain in details what I am doing you won't understand". Same old, same old.

12) And news of my latest (and hopefully final for a while) northern trip can wait until next time. Oh I like to keep you in suspense.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!