Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Home thoughts from home
02 September 2014 21:50


A quiet evening in for me this evening. Quiet because I left my phone at work so no one can contact me - though it is fairly unlikely that anyone will want to contact me anyway, and I fully expect there to be a grand total of zero missed calls when I retrieve it tomorrow.

I have, however, washed my windows. My mum gave me a good tip for washing windows: if you put a bit of rinse aid in with the water you don't have to dry off the windows, they dry naturally smear-free. Well, this is a load of rubbish, as there are smears all over the glass and I'll have to do them again tomorrow.

For the first time in over a month we had a weekend in Hampshire. Saturday morning we went blackberry picking. I came back with the customary reddened hands and scratched arms. The fruit wasn't as abundant as I had hoped - the rain earlier in the week had not helped - but we managed to pick enough for a couple of crumbles. There were quite a few that weren't ripe yet, so we may go out again next weekend. I don't even like blackberry picking.

My car had its MOT test later in the morning. A new discount store has opened next to the garage so after dropping off the car we went in there to have a look. It was quite good, a Lidl for non-food items - though with more known brands than Lidl. And it does have a couple of aisles of food items. It even had frozen ready meals made by CGF's uncles' company. We picked up a couple of shopping baskets and stocked up on bits and pieces. It wasn't till we got to the checkout that we remembered that the car was at the garage for the next hour and a bit and we had to walk back to CGF's.

While my car was away, I weeded CGF's driveway - block paving looks great until the weeds find their way through. From then on it is a constant battle. The car passed btw, with no problems - apart for a minor advisory that I already knew about.

In the afternoon/evening D-T came round for a natter and food and to try some origami. I tried some origami too, but not so successfully. D-T had texted me earlier in the month to say which weekends she was free, in response to my suggestion that we should meet up. Except I had never made such a suggestion. I had thought about it, and intended to, but checking through my sent texts showed that I never actually got round to it. Most odd.

Anyway, we had a good chat and I think D-T was pleased with the company. She lives on her own now and, reading between the lines, I think she is at a bit of a loose end at weekends when she isn't working.

Sunday morning I spent another couple of hours in the garden, catching up on a month's worth of weeding. I pulled up the peas and beans and dug over that patch of garden, ready for the next planting. Possibly some winter greens and some purple-sprouting broccoli for the spring. Will have to go to the garden centre to see what seeds are available.

In the afternoon we went to a barbeque - the maths department at CGF's new school. Luckily I have been learnt how to talk to scientists by Flanders and Swann: "The reciprocal of pi to your good lady wife".

I've just checked my last post and seen that I promised you news of my latest northern trip. We went to stay with CGF's brother and family. Journey up on Saturday morning was slow because of traffic. Over an hour extra between here and the M40 (which is only an hour away). We went to the Yorkshire Sculpture Park on Sunday, which was great. A large country park with various sculptures dotted about, plus a few galleries with more sculptures. A very pleasant place to spend a day out. In the evening there was a family gathering at a Chinese restaurant, so I was able to meet various uncles who I haven't met before. I think I made a good impression. "How long have you known how to use chop sticks?" Well, I don't know - for so long that I can't remember learning. Slow journey on the way home on Monday too. We stopped (planned) at The Aged's for lunch and swapped drivers, then swapped again half-way home as the wet weather and poor visibility was making driving tiring.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!