Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Rare mid-weekend entry
08 September 2014 23:00


As I left work for my five-day weekend on Friday I remarked that I would be entertaining my sister for three days. A colleague picked me up on this, pointing out "she might not find you very entertaining at all". I acknowledged that he was right, and changed my remark to that I would be hosting my sister for three days. I added that this was the sister who is an amazing cook and keeps her house immaculate - so that would be two differences she would find.

At the weekend CGF remarked how many children there seemed to be at her new school - and this was with Year 11 (fifth form in old money) out on work experience. I said "yes, come next week the numbers will increase by 20%". Quick as a flash, CGF Sprog 3 came back with "shouldn't that be 25%?" And she was right, too.

Sis's plane was due at 1115 today, and was on time. LHR is only about an hour from home, and an easy journey - motorway/dual-carriageway all the way. I'd set up my phone to get flight details and got three texts on my way there - not that I could do much about it as I was driving so couldn't look at them. I got to the car park at the same time the plane landed, and Sis was through soon after 1130, so only half hour on the car park.

On my way to the airport I stopped to get a few bits and pieces from the supermarket. I couldn't find the printer cartridges, so bought beer instead. Maybe I should explain that odd comparison. I had a voucher for £8 off when I spend £40 so I wanted to buy something useful but non-perishable that would put the bill up. Beer seemed a pretty good substitute for printer cartridges for that criterion.

But as it was, the till wouldn't accept my voucher. I assumed that I had picked up an out-of-date one (as that's what I usually do) and paid the full amount. It wasn't until I registered how much I had paid that I realised the problem. A slight cockup on the mental arithmetic front. The BOGOF offers had dropped the total down to £39.35. DOH!! If I'd realised that was the problem I'd have picked up a bar of chocolate or something, but it was too late. My excuse was that I was worried about getting to the airport on time so wasn't thinking clearly, and had already had an argument with the self-service checkout over my beer.

This afternoon we had a wander round Smalltown, went to the pub for a (late) lunch (two pints of Doom Bar and a really good butternut squash and something salad). Tomorrow we will wander down Southampton way - maybe the beach or forest - and then CGF's for dinner. Wednesday we're meeting The Ageds for lunch and I hand Sprog over to their care - a bit like swapping spies at Checkpoint Charlie during the cold war.

That cold war comment reminds me of something from one of our recent northern trips. As we passed RAF Croughton (pronounced Crow-tun) I remarked how it used to be a US Air Force base. "US Air force?" asked CGF Sprog 2, quizzically. The youth today have no idea that Britain used to be dotted with USAF bases. I can well remember being woken each morning by the sound of half a dozen F1-11s screaming overhead.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!