Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Concerts and DIY
18 September 2014 18:31


Corrections and Clarifications: Sis didn't take 15 minutes to get through LHR. She took 45 minutes but the plane had landed 30 minutes early. Still, 45 minutes to get through the world's worst airport isn't bad, particularly considering that she had had to walk from T2 (where the plane landed) to T1 (where the plane should have landed).

Watched various concerts (with various degrees of culture) over the weekend. The first was the Last Night of The Proms on Saturday evening TV. For some inexplicable (and inexcusable) reason, the programme didn't include The Sailor's Hornpipe, so here it is for you. See if you can work out when the piece is going to end, and I'll tell you the secret after.

The secret is that the orchestra miss a bar and so finish earlier than expected.

Sunday evening we went to a song and dance concert by one of the amateur groups in Eastleigh. A few other groups were making guest appearances - one of which was CGF Sprog 3's dance school. It was a show of varying quality; the better pieces were generally performed by the guests. The host company couldn't really sing and couldn't really dance - so it might have been a bit ambitious to try to do both together.

When we bought raffle tickets (I didn't win anything) we were asked whether we were there to see someone in the show as if so, we could take a programme. I resisted the obvious answer of "why would we be here if we weren't?"

It was an early performance, so we were home in time to watch the TV coverage of the ELO concert in Hyde Park. OK Jeff Lynne's ELO if you want to be pedantic about it. CGF Sprog 2's reaction when told that ELO were playing in Hyde Park was "why aren't we there?"

In between these cultural events I did a bit of DIY plumbing work, trying to unblock the shower drain. The "Mr Muscle drain gunk eliminator" had had no effect, so I took various parts of the drain apart.

Shower drains aren't easy to take apart, because they are so close to the ground there is no room to put a bucket to catch the water. You just end up flooding the bathroom. And when the bathroom is on the first (US: second) floor, you have to mop it up quickly before it seeps down to the floor below. Also, remembering that the shower tray is full of water before you remove the sump is a definite advantage. While I was lying in this water I remembered the Mr Muscle gunk eliminator we had put down the drain earlier. "I wonder whether this will have any effect on my clothes/skin?" I thought. Well, the skin was OK, but my trousers got bleached.

Anyway, the sump seemed clean, and so did the first three feet of the drain, which was all I could reach easily. I figured the blockage must be further along, so I will take my drain-unblocking snake next weekend and have another go.

Bye for now. I'm off to another concert this evening, so better go get ready.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!