Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

sixes and sevens
08 November 2014 21:01


Jimmy Greaves is selling his world cup winners medal. However, the BBC news managed to contradict itself when reporting this story by first stating that the FIFA rules at that time awarded medals only to the eleven players on the pitch at the end of the game, then explaining that Greaves had been substituted by Geoff Hurst. So that means he wouldn't have received a medal.

To be honest, I wasn't really aware that Greaves had played in the World Cup Final (I don't really need to add that I'm talking about the 1966 one. It's the only one that matters). I only know him from his work with Ian St John on World of Sport's version of Football Focus. But neither of them had Dickie Davies eyes.

It's fireworks season and I went to a display last week. It was unseasonably warm. Watching a firework display when your toes aren't freezing off just doesn't feel right somehow. I was in short sleeves for part of the evening - though I had walked over a mile because the display was further from the car park than I had thought.

A couple of casualties - one minor and one not-so-minor. We were assisted by a doctor (GP) though not clear how much help he was. When the casualty wasn't responding to treatment he asked my colleague "what would you have done if I wasn't here?" Colleague replied "I'd have called an ambulance ten minutes ago".

Confusion at work one day this week as we tried to find the source of a slight fishy smell in the office. Fishy as in smelling of fish, not as in suspicious. Although a fishy smell in an IT office is a bit suspicious. When I got home I discovered that I was the culprit. I had steamed some fish the evening before, so my jumper had become impregnated with fishy steam.

Also at work a few of us received a surprise invitation to a buffet lunch to celebrate the success of what appeared to be a health and safety initiative. It wasn't until someone explained that it was a project we had worked on last year that we understood what it was about.

I've been teaching a first aid course last weekend and today, so three tiring days. Well two and a half. This afternoon was assessments so all I had to do was make sure everyone got to the assessment rooms. I drew a chart on the board and marked off people as they went through (a line to show when they were being assessed and a cross to show when they had been assessed). Except I kept forgetting to update it so I was frequently wrong. I'd be useless in a war control room.

But everyone passed which means either that I am an ace trainer or that they knew that they were doing before they started. I'll go with the former.

CGF's car has been poorly this week - poorly almost to the point of Last Rites, but it now looks like it may not be quite as bad as first thought. In as far as any car repairs can be "not bad". Anyway, she has been car-less for a couple of days and cycling to work. Which isn't generally a problem, except it takes longer so leaves less time to do usual activities. Thursday evening I came down to Eastleigh to pretend to be a proper grown-up, giving CGF and CGF Sprog 1 a lift to where they had to be, then returning to cook dinner for the other sprogs, working out public transport options for CGF's Saturday journey (I even remembered to check engineering work and find out which trains weren't running between Eastleigh and Southampton (a third of them)), and finally return to collect CGF and CGF Sprog 1.

But now it is time for a Saturday night beer.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!