Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Seven shorts
04 December 2014 22:26


1) The canteen at work has trays of two different colours. For several months it has puzzled me as to why the trays are always stacked in separate piles. Surely some randomness should set in so you would get a mixture of colours in each pile. Was this a manifestation of OCD in the tray-putter-outer? Today the mystery was solved. The trays are slightly different sizes and do not stack. The separate piles are for practical, rather than aesthetic, reasons.

2) For dinner this evening I was going to make a tuna and pasta bake. It wasn't until I was well on with the preparations that I discovered that I have no tuna. Improvisation was called for. Tuna and pilchard Paste and pilchard bake it was.

3) For dessert I had a mini fruit salad. Well, and apple and an orange. Plus a couple of cherry tomatoes. Keep your comments about knowledge and wisdom to yourself. I added a piece of stilton cheese. Ok it doesn't go with a fruit salad, but it does go with tomatoes.

4) One of the stalls at the Christmas market last weekend sold chocolate novelties. The chocolate had been cast to the shape and size of tools, and then painted to look realistic. Hammers, spanners, paint brushes, etc. Even a butterfly corkscrew. They were very effective, and would make good Christmas presents. There was even a chocolate nut and bolt that actually screwed.

5) Typing up something last week, I accidentally closed the document without saving. No worry, I thought. Word has a retrieval system so you can restore documents that you forgot to save. I've seen the message "if you click 'don't save', a recent copy of this file will be temporarily available". Yeah, right. Even though I realised what I had done straight away, no recent copy of the file was to be found. Luckily it wasn't a document of major importance, and I could rewrite it the following day.

6) I had a senior moment multiplied yesterday at work. I was temporarily sitting at an absent colleagues desk while I tried to fix the stapler. When I left, I noticed a pair of glasses on the desk but didn't think any more of it, other than thinking that the colleague doesn't wear glasses so someone else must have left them there. When he returned he pointed out the glasses and I acknowledged that I had seen them as well. Then: "oh hang on - they're mine". I must have taken them off to look at the stapler and forgotten about them. Yes, I take my glasses off to see things close up.

7) Last day of the week tomorrow, and then two short weeks - I have a day off next Friday and the following Monday. I did have a dental appointment on the Monday, but I've just picked up my phone messages for the last week and there were three messages from the dentist saying they can't make that appointment and can I call to reschedule. I better try to remember to do that in the morning.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!