Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Five - one ate
07 May 2015 22:40


So in my last post I mentioned that I know very little about the mechanics of a car engine. But after chatting to a guy who works in a car parts store I realised that I do know a bit more than some people – who are proof that stupidity is alive and well and residing in Andover.

One lady was caught pouring petrol into the engine through the oil filler. Well at least she had realised that there was an oil filler, unlike the lady who was trying to pour oil down the dipstick chute. Then there was the bloke who asked for duct tape, because his steering wheel kept coming off the spindle. But the prize for moronic stupidity has to go to the person who put oil on his brake pads because he’d read on the internet that this made you go faster. Obviously too dim to understand the difference between “speed” and “not being able to stop”.

I was eating my dinner one evening and found a spider (dead) amongst the food. Only a small spider – I pushed it to one side and carried on eating. I guess it must have been at the bottom of the mixing bowl and I didn’t notice,

Polling day today. As I was walking home from the town centre a car stopped and asked me where the polling station was. Being a good citizen I gave directions. As I walked on I realised that I have a postal vote and have never voted at a polling station in Smalltown. I don’t actually know where the polling station is – I’d given directions to where I thought it probably was. Even worse, I’d possibly not given the clearest directions: “Straight on at the roundabout” might be interpreted as “second exit” rather than “first exit” as I intended. Oh well.

Banter last night around how in the 1960s and 1970s it wasn’t unknown for parents to accidentally be given the wrong babies to take home from maternity hospitals. I wondered whether I could have been (though have no reason to suspect that my parents aren’t my natural parents). Sheer muppetry – I was born at home!

I received an obscure and pointless phone call this evening.
“This is the blood transfusion service. You are booked to give blood on 3 June, is that still convenient”
Do what? That’s next month. I don’t even know what I’m doing next week. I pull my diary out and take a look.
“Yes, that’s in my diary. I’m still OK to attend”
“And have you had any illnesses recently”
“No, I’ve been fit and healthy”
“Have you been out of the UK since your last donation?”
“No”
“That’s good; we’ll see you in June”

So what was the point of that phone call? I didn’t really need reminding as the appointment is in my diary. More to the point, if I did need reminding, it would be better to do it two days before, not four weeks. And in those four weeks I could get ill, or travel to Timbuktu and back. They didn’t think of that, did they?

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!