Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

ten and counting
06 December 2015 21:16


When we were at Guys and Dolls last week I bought a raffle ticket (well, a strip of five). I didn’t win, but I was close – the next ticket in line got a prize. Doh! If only I’d not been so tight I would have bought two strips instead on one and then won. Yeah, I know. Chance doesn’t work like that. If I’d bought another strip there would have been five more tickets in the pot, and this would have affected the positions of all the others so the same tickets wouldn’t have been drawn. Like butterflies flapping their wings and causing hurricanes. Or not.

But, this near-win was a portent of things to come. Later in the week I won a box of biscuits in the co-op instant win promotion and £200 in a local charity raffle. If luck runs in threes, I must have been odds-on to win the lottery on Saturday. But as it doesn’t, it made not a jot of difference.

Quite helpfully, the co-op assistant offered to go and get me the biscuits there and then. Unfortunately they were out of stock. Coincidently, I was there the following day and a customer next to me won a box of chocolates – of which they were also out of stock. Hmm … Could it be that the winning prizes are only items that are out of stock, just to encourage people to revisit (and hopefully buy more stuff). Or am I cynical?

I’ve been teaching this weekend – two full days, so have a tired voice (though this is not helped by a bit of a chest infection). How proper teachers can get through a week and still have a voice left at the end of the week is beyond me. You know how much I like coincidences, so imagine how excited I was to find that one of the students lives on the housing development built on land once occupied by my great-uncle’s house (and where one of the roads is named after him).

Ten working days to Christmas. Christmas cards still to be written, and presents to be wrapped. And maybe a few more to buy. I was going to write the cards on Friday – but then remembered that I hadn’t got round to buying any yet! Two Christmas meals this week, and another two next week. Hopefully someone has a note of what I ordered, as I can’t remember.

Bye for now.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!