Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

A Christmas Mystery
10 December 2015 14:53


I received a letter in the mail, hand-written and correctly addressed but to “Mr & Mrs R Barefoot”. This seemed a bit odd. As far as I know, anyone who knows my address also knows that I haven’t been “Mr & Mrs” for longer than I’ve lived in Smalltown.

More mystery was to come. Inside the envelope were two separately enveloped Christmas cards. One to “Ruby, Louise and Rosie”, and one to “Colin and Kevin”. Both “love from Dave and Joy”.

I have absolutely no idea who any of these people are.

Now, I know that sometimes people get cards and envelopes mixed up – I’ve probably done it myself. But generally you know who the sender is, and it is someone who intended to send you a card – even if it’s not the one you received. I also know that sometimes people put the wrong address on the envelope. But neither of these explanations fit this case. How can anyone know someone well enough to be on first name terms and that it is appropriate to send separate cards yet not know their address. And why use the address of a complete stranger, who happens (possibly) to share the same name?

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!