Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Preparations complete (almost)
18 December 2015 12:46


1) I’ve just found a filled pot of laundry detergent on the kitchen top. This was an odd find, until I realised that it was the detergent that was supposed to have gone in the machine when I did the washing last night. So washing retrieved from the line, and put through the washer again.

2) Dentist appointment this morning. In one of those “I’ve got plenty of time so I will do something first” moments I managed to give myself insufficient time to walk down to the surgery, so had to drive, which was slightly annoying. I need to get myself a bicycle for Smalltown. Still more annoying in that the dentist was running late, so I would have had time to walk.

3) Driving also meant that I couldn’t take advantage of the free coffee machine as I left the surgery.

4) My health check last week was a waste of time – but I don’t mean that in a disingenuous way. My cholesterol is low; my blood pressure is fine; my BMI is good (it’s 1, obviously. I have one body and one mass; 1 divided by 1 is 1). I have a 3.5% of having a stroke or heart attack in the next ten years, and the nurse concluded that there was no health advice to give.

5) When asked whether I eat a healthy diet, I replied “yes”, although this is a very subjective opinion. Yes, I think I probably eat more healthily than some people do, but I don’t routinely seek out healthy options – and never look at traffic light information. I do eat a lot of vegetables, and don’t eat deep-fried food very often. The only question the nurse asked to confirm my understanding of “healthy diet” was whether I add salt to food – which I don’t (except chips). Which, of course, begs the question “how often do you have chips” but that wasn’t asked.

6) Had a present-wrapping session last night, so all presents are wrapped (apart from one online order that I am still waiting for). Sill got the hall to deck, but I have at least got the box of decorations out of the cupboard, which is a start.

7) We did our final Christmas shopping on Saturday – well CGF did. I just carried the bags. Over four hours in Southampton – though an hour of that was taken up with lunch – in a new noodle restaurant, which was very good and we will visit again.

8) Part of the aim of the expedition was to buy something for myself from Tyrell & Green and Marks & Sparks, using birthday vouchers. But it was so busy that I decided I couldn't be bothered. It’s not Tyrell & Green any more. It’s not at the top of the town either.

9) We went to the John Lewis café for a much-needed cup of tea and cake. CGF asked whether she should grab a table while we were waiting. Of course, I said not as it would mess up the café’s queuing calculations. And I was vindicated. As we paid, a table became free. And as the next person paid, another table came free, and again, and again. After which CGF told me to shut up and stop pointing it out.

10) You get very nearly three cups out of a John Lewis tea pot. That’s good value.

11) Washing's finished. It smells a bit cleaner this time round.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!