Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Late again
14 June 2016 22:47


So, as I said, The Aged came down for a couple of nights at half term. We had invited them down several weeks ago, but heard nothing so assumed they weren’t able to make it. Then about ten days before he said “Oh, I’m coming down next week, aren’t I?” He came down alone as Mrs The Aged had things to do at home and, let’s be honest, probably relished the peace and quiet.

One evening we went over to see my nephew and had a rather tasty and well-presented curry. When we were making arrangements, nephew said “Tuesday or Wednesday – whatever’s easier for Granddad”.
“Come on,” I replied, “you know Granddad – nothing’s ever easy for him”.


We went to the Museum of Naval Firepower, which is interesting and worth a visit. I hadn’t realised that the purpose of a cannon wasn‘t so much to sink a ship, as to break off chunks of the bodywork with the intention of killing and maiming the crew with flying splinters.

The following day we went to the Sandham Memorial Chapel, which has (and indeed was built to house) large murals of scenes from WW1. Not battle scenes, but scenes of camps and hospitals. The pictures are fascinating, and incredibly detailed. Owing to copyright, I couldn’t take any photos so you’ll just have to go there yourself.


The Aged went home Thursday, and Friday we headed up to Yorkshire to see CGF’s family. While we were there, CGF’s bro got us to help him move some wooden panels – he’d borrowed a van to take to the tip. As he’d hurt his back trying to move them earlier in the week (I’m not surprised – they were very heavy) “help him” meant “we do the work while he watches”.

We also did a tourist parkrun, cos that’s what we do - and it was my 50th run. Yep, I’ve got the T-shirt (well, I haven’t yet, but it is on order).


Many moons ago, I wrote bemoaning the modern style of bicycle pumps that clamp directly onto the valve. I did try to find the post, but the “search for specific terms” seems to be having a bit of an issue at the moment and is returning pretty much every post I’ve ever written. Anyway, I complained how they were difficult to attach, even more difficult to remove, and how vibration while you pump must transfer and cause stress on the valve as there is no flexible tube to absorb it. I later solved the first two of these problems when I worked out that I had the “attach” and “release” positions of the clamp the wrong way round.

But – someone must have read my pleas as I went to Halfords at the weekend, and they now sell proper bicycle pumps. I was so excited I had to buy one (I had gone into Halfords with the express intention of buying a pump, so it wasn’t really a spur-of-the-minute purchase). It wasn’t till I got out of the store that I realised I have no means of attaching it to the bike!

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!