Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

jasper attack
26 August 2016 13:55


I have a plethora of different razors about my house (Ok four or five – but that’s still three or four more than a man might need). I also have two sets of razor blades. None of the blades is compatible with any of the razors.

The reason, you see, is that when I go to buy replacement blades for my main razor I see the price and think “whoa, I’m not spending that much on a set of blades when I can get an entire razor for half the price”. So I buy a new razor instead. But when I need new blades for that razor, I am overwhelmed by the choice on offer, get a pack that I think is right, then get home and find they are not. So go back shopping and buy the razor that they do fit, and use that for a while. Repeat ad infinitum.

While shopping today I found a razor (inclusive of two blades) for £2.50. So I bought two. That should keep me going for a few weeks.


It’s a bank holiday – the end of the summer. It’s all downhill now till Christmas. And, surprisingly, the weather is good. I’ve got an extra-long weekend, with Friday and Tuesday off as well. So I’ve got a weekend, followed by a day off, followed by another weekend.

On Sunday, we’re heading to Snowdonia, where my cousin is organising a climb of Snowdon, for a couple of nights. It’s in memory of her late husband, who would have been 60, and who loved Snowdonia. I think there is upwards of 30 taking part – I’ve already suggested that we should walk in small groups, as if we try to keep 30-plus people together we’ll never get anywhere.

CS1 is working in the morning, so we’re taking two cars. I’m going up with CS3 early morning to meet CGF’s bro and, hopefully, take a trip on one of the little railways, while CGF will bring the others later. I must admit, I hadn’t realised how far way Snowdonia is. Wales, as a county, is only about two hours away. But Snowdonia is a long way beyond that.


Sitting at my desk yesterday, just before going-home time, I felt an insect crawling up my leg. “Could that be the wasp that’s been flying around for the last ten minutes?” I wondered, and tried to brush it out. OW!! Yes, it was the wasp. It stung me twice before I could get to the loo and take my trousers off.

It didn’t hurt that much – not much more than a stinging nettle – though I can still feel it now (as a minor irritation) almost 24 hours later. I don’t know whether wasp stings aren’t as painful as we are led to believe, or that the wasp – which had been pretty lethargic – was on its last legs* and didn’t have much power left. I didn’t bother with any first aid treatment (I’ll probably get told off for that when I return to next week), but just manned-up. Anyway, by then it was going-home time.

*Obviously, its last legs lasted far less than they would have done had it not stung me. It was terminated with extreme prejudice, once I found it.

And I have no idea why our family call wasps "jaspers".

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!