Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

It was a monkey
10 September 2016 20:10


After parkrun this morning we went for a coffee and bacon roll – well, we deserved it; we’d just run 5 km (3.1 miles) in the rain.

The cup the coffee came in stated it was "Compostable, biodegradable, recyclable". And in case people are not clear what this means, there was a pictogram on the other side that confirmed it could be put on a compost heap. So that (on the suggestion of CS3) is what I’ve done – or will do when it stops raining. I brought the cup home especially. We didn’t bring CS3’s cup home as she’d had hot chocolate and we decided that wasn’t very good for compost heaps.

So, if my local not-for-profit community cafe can do it – and, moreover (see the “not-for-profit” bit), do it at a cost-effective price - why can’t Costa-Bucks Nero #1?


Another reason to love parkrun (Ok this one’s a bit tenuous).

On our way back a couple of weeks ago, we walked by a garage sale. Not really interested in buying anything, but I glanced at the items as we passed. Hang on, is that an electric scarifier?

I’ve wanted to get one of those for a while, but not wanted enough to fork out £90 plus. This one was in good condition – and a Bosch, so a good (and expensive) make. And only £12. Bargain. A quick word with the seller, and she agreed to put it on one side until I’d had a shower and could come back with the cash.


I needed (or so I was told) a haircut. I meant to go yesterday but, what with one thing and another (mostly another) I never got there. So today, seeing as I was in Eastleigh, I went back to the barber I used when I lived in they-parts – first time for over five years. (OK, technically it’s the second time, but let’s not spoil a good story).

The guy who used to run it has retired, but still owns the business. There is a young Italian(?) guy running it now, and we had a really good chat about the place. I have been going there since before he was born – back then there were two barbers, and they had a bigger street-fronted shop. He was interested in the history of the area in general, and of the barber shop in particular. His plans are to decorate the saloon in a 1960s theme, and put some photos and history of the original owners on the wall. The business started in about 1962, and he wants to make sure it is still there in 2062.

All in all it was a rather pleasant trip – and I left a generous (for me) tip. On the way back, I popped into Sainsbury’s and found some Old Hooky ale – even though this wasn't what I actually went there for (which I couldn't find).

previous - next

Recent Entries

So close - 25 July 2020
two one five six - 27 June 2020
What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!