Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Quick update
27 November 2016 23:55


Eastleigh Christmas Lights were switched on last weekend and we suddenly realised it’s four weeks to Christmas and we have bought no gifts. Not only that, but I had no idea what to buy. I’m sure I’m not usually this disorganised. Even if I have nothing, I at least have a plan … don’t I?

Cue for an expedition to Basinghole shopping centre - and quite a successful expedition too. I’ve bought gifts for specific people and gifts for no one in particular but they looked the sort of thing that I can work out who to give to later.

My dad’s the worst to buy for – he has pretty much everything he needs, and if he needs anything else he just goes out and buys it, so his wish-list is pretty much non-existent. Got it sussed for this year though … I’m going to buy him a fridge – just to see his face light up when he opens it.

I bought so much that I decided to leave my credit card in one store to stop spending any more money. OK, you may think that I just forgot to pick it up but I’m sticking to my story. It does mean I’ve got to go back tomorrow to collect it, but I was going to Basinghole anyway. Though now both CGF and Elderly Mother have given me a list of things I can buy while I am there.

I even successfully negotiated the labyrinth of a car park. It’s really three car parks merged into one – but access between each isn’t on every level (or indeed, all on the same level). To get out I had to do a loop round Car Park C, cross to Car park B, do a loop round that, then cross to car park A where I did two loops in opposite directions on different levels before reaching the exit.

When I was a kid I would use building blocks to make narrow and tortuous paths for my toy cars. Basinhole car park has been designed on similar principles. When I went there last week I found a basement level that I didn’t even know existed.

As mentioned above, Elderly Mother is staying, having made a snap decision to come over to the UK for a few weeks. She’s been staying with me for the last week, so my home is lovely and clean and tidy. This week I have taken time off work and we’re off on a trip to the Far East … of England. Going to visit my nephew who is doing horse-based training on the horse-based town of they parts, then visit to a couple of aunts and uncle.

Will try to write something more interesting when I return.


ps she’s not really that elderly, but I have to introduce her as that so people don’t think she is younger than she is. She can still run a mile on the treadmill despite being only a smidgeon off 79.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!