Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Oh Boy
17 January 2017 19:19


There was a bit of snow last week – bit being the operative word. I’ve seen more whiteness from a frost. The only problem it caused me was being unable to see the house numbers painted on the wheelie bin. I’d gone out to put some recycling out but, because I had quite a lot, didn’t want to accidentally fill a neighbour’s bin. I must have looked like a right div out there scraping the ice with a wooden spatula.

Still, it wasn’t the last time I looked like a div that day. I went to the bank to pay a cheque in and used the machine. The keypad was quite low and shielded from view with a plastic, er, shield, so I had to bend down to see the pad. A bank assistant came over to tell me that you can lift the shield to see the numbers.

My new laptop stopped working – low battery – but wouldn’t start up even with the charger plugged in. Major problem … or not. It took me a few minutes to work out the problem, but sometimes I am a genius. I spotted that I was using the phone charger not the laptop charger. Yeah, OK, sometimes I’m a div, too.

Trying to buy something from the vending machine at work and it refused to serve me. I tried a different product – still no luck. Stupid machine, out of order again. Or maybe it’s because I had only 66p on my payment card and the product (kitkat, if you were wondering) cost 74p – the big 34 I could see was the number of the product, not its price.

That’s enough div-ness.

As previewed in my last post, we went to see Buddy on Saturday. It was really good - the cast was made up of musicians who could act rather than actors who can musicify. We did wonder whether we should dress up in 1950s garb, but we decided against it (the first “we” being CGF, the second “we” being me).

The season finale of Shelock was on Sunday (in as far as a season containing only three episodes can have a finale). I don’t want to give any plot spoilers away but, … hmm. Entetaining with lots of action, but not very Sherlocky. There seemed to be plot holes – or at least unexplained plot twists and non-followed through subplots from previous episodes. Personally, I preferred it when it was modern day adaptions of genuine Conan Doyle stories, and hope they return to that format in any future series.

Also watched a programme about strange homes built in strange places. CS3 was fascinated and fancies the idea of becoming an architect. The curse of architects (you can apply this criticism to pretty much any career that designs things (even IT professionals!) but it works best with architects) is that they want to design a spectacular structure that they will be remembered for – but rarely get the chance.

Later, looking up careers information about architects and other jobs she asked “how long is 40 hours?” I told her it was a 5-day week, working 0830 to 1730 with an hour or lunch. “Oh, that’s a lot”. I suppose I thought similar when I was her age.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!