Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

International tourist
09 September 2017 05:53


My second flight was much emptier and I had a row of four seats to myself, so could lie down and have a bit of a sleep. Mum and my niece met me at the airport. Big Sis phoned niece to tell her to make sure I remembered the car part. This was the first niece had heard of the car part and her reaction was "Mum, I have no idea what you are talking about, and I'm not going to be in the luggage hall when Uncle Ruby picks up the baggage, so there's not a lot I can do about it". The package seemed to be rattling a bit when I collected it, but as Big Sis hasn't phoned in hysterics, I assume it is OK.

Sunshine and heavy showers today – April showers with attitude – so we’ve not ventured out since Parkrun this morning, where I got well and truly soaked. Looked more like I’d been swimming than running.

There is a NZ parkrun in Cambridge, about half-hour drive away, so it was a no-brainer as to whether I was going to do it. Couldn’t persuade Big Sis to come along though. I finished in fifth place, and first in my age category. OK, there were only fourteen runners, but first is first.

Having done Cambridge NZ parkrun, I now have to do Cambridge UK to complete the double. The Future Mrs Barefoot is up for a trip there before the year is out (she probably realises that if she does Cambridge UK I will have to bring her to NZ so she can also complete the double).

I think the worst of the rain may be over for the day. I’m basing that on the fact that the cat has removed herself from the warmth of the sofa and ventured into the conservatory.

Yesterday was another showery day, but as mum and I were travelling about we managed to miss most of the rain and had quite a good day, weather-wise. We went to Taupo, which is the town on the north of that big lake in the middle of north island. There are some spectacular rapids in the river just outside the town that we stopped at too – 200,000 litres of water per second. As that amount is hard to imagine, they would take ten seconds fill an Olympic sized swimming pool.

Thursday, we went over to Cambridge, the town where Big Sis works, and met her for lunch. We had a quick recce of the parkrun too. This starts at the velodrome, so we went to have a look at that. There were a few cyclists having a practice session there, and was quite interesting to watch. I didn’t realise how steep the banking is at the ends; you don’t get that impression on the TV, but it is so steep it would be difficult to walk up. “thirteen more laps of the warm-up” called the trainer. I think that for me thirteen more laps would have been the entire event!

Not sure whether Little Sis will make it over – she’s stuck in Florida waiting for the hurricane. Latest is she is going to try to get a flight a couple of days later in the week. I saw news that the state was evacuating 5.6 million people (I think the news stated that 5.6 million people were being evacuated, which is a slightly different scenario). Where do you put 5.6 million people? Scary stuff – let’s hope Little Sis stays safe.

previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!