Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Notes

Previous Next

About Me

Back with hot water
15 December 2017 14:10


A week or so ago, my water heater (electric) almost gave up. It would come on for about five minutes then think “that’s enough for now” and switch itself off again. Even leaving the power on overnight resulted in barely lukewarm water.

I ran through a list of things that could be wrong, and decided to start with the thermostat as that was the easiest and cheapest to change. Tuesday evening I bought a new thermostat, and last night tried to fit it. It was the wrong size. How was I to know that the “11 inches” marked on the cover was the size of the element, not the thermostat.

So today I went back to the store and exchanged it. Fitted it when I get home and ... I have hot water! It was easy to fit too – just two wires; easier than fitting a plug. I completed the job in less time than it took to boil a kettle.


A trip to Winchester Christmas Market last week (which reminds me; I bought a birthday present for Mum but can’t for the life of me remember where I put it). I had other bits and pieces to do early afternoon, so The Future Mrs. Barefoot caught the train there and I met her later.

I get to the car park and drive round three times looking for a space. Then realised I didn’t have enough change for the ticket. Well, not entirely true. I had exactly enough for 2-hours parking, but that included five-pence coins that the machine doesn’t accept.

I noticed the “pay by phone” notice. “Just text this number and we will call you back”. Brilliant, I thought. I can walk off into the city, and they can call me back while I am looking for The Future Mrs Barefoot.

Just as I stepped out of the carpark, my phone buzzed. A text message: “sorry, your account isn’t recognised”. Duh! I thought that was the whole point; you were going to phone me so I could create an account.

I return to the parking meter, and call the number. “enter your phone number”. So, I did. “sorry that account is already in use”. Well make your mind up.

Then I saw the sign that read “minimum card payment £4.20 (three hours)”. Sod it, I’ll pay the extra. I CBA’d to mess about any longer.


We’re heading back to the Christmas market again tomorrow – but will go by train. CS3 and friend are going ice skating. We’re not – far too cold and hard if we fall over. We will watch them for a while, then go and find the hot chocolate / mulled wine / chestnuts.


A sign outside a fuel station that offers an instant Costa machine: “our coffee beans are the same as the ones we use in coffee shops”. Hmm, don’t think I’ll be going there. If the coffee beans have already been used in a coffee shop there won’t be much flavour left.


previous - next

Recent Entries

What's changed - 21 May 2020
Locked down life - 17 May 2020
Travel Bookings - 15 February 2020
Does anyone know what's going on - 06 September 2019
Family stories - 17 August 2019

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!